Interview with Tricia-chan

Cosplay Blog… with a Brain! presents it’s second interview with a cosplayer that I met over Deviantart and have got to watch grow. I present Tricia-chan!

Tricia-chan out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
It’s not exactly an alias for cosplaying, but overall my alias is Tricia-chan. The name makes me feel creative, so I connect it to any creative things I make or do.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?

I believe about three years now. I was going to my first con that I would dress up in (which was a cheap Matt from Death Note).

Tricia-chan as Ai Emma from Hell Girl, photo by iCosplay.com

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?

Putting things together have always been fun for me. Everything would start out a simple sheet of fabric and other scraps, but when I put it all together, I feel proud at what I create.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?

 I’m excited on working on little Rydia (Final Fantasy IV) and Rachel (Trapt). It’s one thing with putting costumes together, it’s another to add detail. Right now, I do everything by hand, but once I learn a few tactics, and maybe get a real sewing machine, I think I can accomplish more.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?

Details are always important in costumes, from the texture of the fabric down to the very threads that secretively hold it together. The comfort of the costume is also important– If you’re going to be dressed up all day, you might as well be comfortable.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?

I see where people have cosplays that are really put together and are simply amazing, whether they made it or not.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?

I would like to see it to just where people have cosplays that did whatever they could to make, whether it’s good or terrible.

Tricia-chan as a Matryoshka from Vocaloid Gumi

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Start with something simple. There’s no need to start off with something so complicated. You will work your way there. :3

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?

I have two, actually: A&G Ohio and Glass City Con. A&G is basically my convention, so to speak. I’ve been there for three years now, and despite its ups and downs, I’ve enjoyed it when people recognize who I am dressed as. Glass City Con is the same, but I think I just enjoyed it for its live-action battles. :’D

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!

I have lost almost two weeks’ worth of sleep working on the Anti-Sora costume. When my friend got ten more pictures than me at A&G, I tried to not get jealous by telling myself, “Hey, I made that costume, so all the glory is mine.”

Tricia-chan's Friend as Anti-Sora from Kingdom Hearts 2, made by her

Thank you Tricia-chan for sharing your views with us! 😀 Can’t wait to see what more you make in the future!
To see more of her work, costuming or not, click the link to Tricia-chan’s Deviantart.
About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in interview and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

