Interview with Smidge

It’s time for another interview, this time with Smidge! She’s a cosplayer in Idaho who is very charismatic and I’ve gotten to watch increase in talent over the years!

Smidge, photo by Cliff Nordman Photography

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
Smidge. It started when I was twelve and I chose the handle Pidge_of_Voltron in a chat room. It had gender markers and I’m a girl so folks threw a fit that a girl used a boy character’s name, so I said “Fine, I’m his long-lost twin sister, Smidge. Now shaddap.” Aaand it stuck. Most everyone I know calls me Smidge. :3

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I’ve been really cosplaying since Anime Oasis 4 in 2005 and my Desert Chikins group urged me to make FFX Rikku for a skit. Way earlier, I was a victim of the dreaded Sailor Moon Costume-in-a-Bag one Halloween. D:

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I love making props. I scarcely have the right materials, but the MacGuyver moment makes it all worth it.

Smidge as Squall from Final Fantasy VIII, photo by Consplayers

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
My dream costume isn’t nerd-related at all, but a huge challenge. I want to make one of the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show angels. The designs and pageantry are fantastic. </LAME>

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I love when someone finds a character to portray that really suits them. There’s a really skinny, darker-skinned cosplayer that portrays Dhalsim from Street Fighter, and his physical resemblance makes an otherwise simplistic costume an incredible sight. Attention to detail makes me happy, but so does knowing your limits and taking the time to really do a character justice.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
Oy. I see a lot of newbies making mistakes or just unwise choices, but they’re also reaching out for help way more than they used to. Anime and nerdiness in general are getting more widely accepted every day and we have more resources than ever, for both supplies and information. There can be a ton of uncalled-for drama though. o_O

Smidge as Rikku from Final Fantasy X, photo by Consplayers

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
We’re actually making a lot of great strides, and there’s no change I want to see that I also haven’t seen slight changes in already. However, it will always bear repeating that soap is your friend.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
RESEARCH. Look into basic techniques, and really think about appropriate materials. School uniforms aren’t satin! If a character is evil and has intricate clothes, chances are they’d use higher quality fabrics because they’re full of themselves. If you love a character, try to be as accurate as possible and really do them justice. Also, a good wig can make a costume. We very seldom have the appropriate hair for a character by chance.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I like cons that are big enough to entertain me but small enough for me not too feel overwhelmed. Aki-Con is really coming into its own, but Anime Oasis will always be my home turf.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I’ve never seen any other female do a Tintin costume and I’ve worn him to three cons. :3

Smidge as Tin Tin from The Adventures of Tin Tin, photo by Elena Dorfman

Thanks for the interview, Smidge! I look forward to seeing you at future conventions! 😀

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

