Photographer Interview with Indigo Verse

Indigo is a very talented photographer, who I personally first started watching for his beautiful high-definition scenic shots. He does amazing work, and I was more than pleased he allowed me to interview him!

The Cascades, photo by Indigo

How many years have you been into photography and what got you into cosplay photography?
I’ve been into photography almost my entire life however, I never took it seriously until 2005 when I got my hands on a Canon 20D. It was a new and fresh experience which changed the game for me completely. Being able to shoot without fear of development costs increased my speed and ability to learn by not stressing about things such as film rolls and having to travel back to a location because the shots did not come out as intended. As for what got me into Cosplay photography, it was all Lillyxandra‘s fault! I met her for the first time at Anime L.A. in 2007 and that began my venture into the world of cosplay photography with her. The beautiful colors and quality of her costumes really caught my eye and I was hooked from that point on.

Lillyxandra as her original design Lavender Masquerade Fairy, photo by Indigo

What regions do you usually cover, and do you charge for photo shoots? Also, how does one get in contact to shoot with you?
I tend to be rather flexible with my regions, I mean if the budget permits, I will travel half way across the planet for a shoot if the client wishes for my services. As for charging, I started off by doing it for free, however it came to be that I had no choice but to charge so that I could afford the upkeep of my equipment as well as gradual upgrades to allow for more dynamic shots. I do believe in the bartering system, so if a  service is offered that will benefit me or my work, then I will surly entertain the concept. If anyone is looking to contact me for a photo shoot,  I can be easily reached through the contact page on my portfolio site. I’m quick to reply so I will never leave anyone hanging.

What type of photo shoots do you prefer and why?
I really enjoy photo shoots that take place out in the vast beauty of nature. The road trip, getting to know the talent and working with friends just makes it all worth the trip. More specifically, I love shooting in the golden hour because of the challenge to get as many fantastic shots before the sun dips beyond the horizon. The light is just amazing and unrivaled.

What is some of your favorite equipment you work with and why?
For camera bodies, I switch off between my Canon 5D MKII for full frame shots and extra boost for Depth of Field and my 7D for crop factor and high speed action shots to capture swift movement. For Lenses, I love shooting with my Canon 70-200 f/2.8 Telephoto and my 85mm f/1.2 prime. The quality of the shots are very clean and both lenses give me the Depth of Field that I am looking for while maintaining a crisp image.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
At this point, I am looking forward to shooting a few scenes for The Zelda Project. They will take place at Hyrule Field and Lon Lon Ranch in a town outside Fresno. The second project in line will be with Lillyxandra, I will be shooting a new costume that she has crafted, simply titled “Fancy Fairy”. Our scouting has put us in San Diego’s Balboa Park for the shoot.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other photographers and who do you think does them well?
I really love a good clean Depth of Field shot and the one guy whose work never fails is James Pan. His work is so vibrant and clean, it just inspires me overtime as I see his work.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I love it!, It’s like the renaissance in modern times, and everyone taps into their artistic abilities to create wonderful costumes to express themselves or to pay homage to their favorite characters developed by other artists. I love art and support it always, and this is constantly in my view, an embracement of art within every participant to the best of their ability.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?

Traci Hines as Serenia Mermaid, design by Lilyxandra, photo by Indigo


As much as I love to see costumes that I can identify with, I really love it when people go and create original ideas of their own. This is probably why I love to work with Lilyxandra so much, every costume she has made was of her own creation.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into photography?
Never let your friends and family convince you that your work is the end all, be all of photography. This subject is a very long path filled with obstacles and many forks in the road, your best weapons are experimentation, networking and humility. Remember that camera brands or equipment don’t make a great photographer, trial and error do. And finally, in the words of Commander Peter Quincy Taggart “Never give up! Never surrender!”…lol

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I have been to Anime L.A., Comic Con, Anime Expo and many other conventions that are non Cosplay related, however the best Cosplay Convention I have been to as of yet has to be SOFA 2010 in Bogotá, Colombia! It was more than just attending a convention for me it was meeting a new country, people and culture and my favorite way of meeting a culture is through their food! We had the most courteous and sweetest hosts and they left me wanting to come back for more. Everyone there was just awesome, nice and amazingly talented!

Jellyfish at the Aquarium of the Pacific in Long Beach, CA, photo by Indigo

Thanks for the interview, Indigo! To check out his work, you can check out his site and his Deviantart.

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Photographer Interview with Indigo Verse

  1. Traci says:

    Awesome! Great interview Indi! (And I’m honored to be one of the models in the photos!) Keep making photography-magic! XD

  2. JoEllen Elam says:

    Great interview!! Indi will always be my favorite photographer ❤

Leave a Reply

