Interview with SSFSeiyaKou/Seiya

It’s time for another interview, this time with SSFSeiyaKou/Seiya! She’s a cosplayer from Flordia, currently in Colorado, who does amazing commission work and is very talented!

SSFSeiyaKou/Seiya out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
It’s SSFSeiyaKou – though I usually just go by Seiya. My favorite anime character is Seiya Kou from Sailor Stars, and I used to cosplay her/him a lot.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
This year marks my 10 year anniversary. (I can’t believe it’s been that long!) Through a series of events, I ended up going to Anime Expo in 2001. Some friends told me to make some costumes and bring them along. There was this neat thing they did called “cosplay”, you see…

SSFSeiyaKou/Seiya as Sailor Uranus from Sera Myu, photo by Eurobeat King

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
Gosh, I’ve worked with so many things. I taught myself how to make armor and props. I’ve worked with several different kinds of fabrics. I dabble in resin casting. I’m learning embroidery. There isn’t any one thing, for me. I really enjoy creating new pieces and learning new techniques.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
My first love will always be my baby, Last Chance Myu. I’ve met some of the most incredible people through cosplay and this group lets me spend time with them and create something unique and wonderful.

Our newest venture is our little online cosplay and craft shop, Starlit Creations. We were able to sell some of our goods at Animeland Wasabi and will be in the artist alley at Nan Desu Kan in September. I’m really looking forward to that.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
For me, attention to detail is a huge thing. So many people leave off details because they don’t know how to add them or they don’t even bother researching a costume before making it. So I give kudos to any cosplayer who researches a costume thoroughly and does their best to translate that into a 3D project.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I don’t pay attention to the “cosplay scene”. From what I’ve seen through the years, it’s filled with incredibly mean, vindictive and shallow people. Instead, I focus on the fun. I’ve met some amazing people through the years, and to me, that’s what’s important.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I wish the backbiting and pettiness would die in a fire. We’re all playing dress up. It shouldn’t be THAT hard to get along. We’re all doing this for different reasons, but the main one is to have fun. You can have fun without being a jerk.

I’d also like to see a collaboration where people discuss new innovations to the craft. Everyone puts together their costumes differently. I always find it fascinating to see how people make their costumes.

SSFSeiyaKou/Seiya as Sesshoumaru and SSHYatenKou/Yaten as Inuyasha from Inuyasha, photo by Patti Gould

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Play nice and have fun, for starters. Don’t be afraid to mess up, and don’t be afraid to ask for help. It’s better to try to make a costume and mess up than to not try at all.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Different conventions offer different venues and attractions, but at the end of the day, meeting new people and spending time with friends is what really makes or breaks a convention for me. My favorite, to date, would be Katsucon 2008 – because I got to perform (again) with some of the greatest people on the planet.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
Prince Endymion – I spent a year or so collecting pictures before even attempting this costume. (My wife did the same with her Princess Sailor Moon). Everything on this costume is custom. I had to hand embroider the shoulder poofs, along with so many other things. It took 6 months to make.

Bonus note: I made this costume so I could take it in as I lost weight. For example, the “man corset” has a removable back panel. I’m glad I did this. I’ve lost 30+ pounds in the last year, and I need to take this costume in and get new pictures.

SSFSeiyaKou/Seiya as Prince Endymion and SSHYatenKou/Yaten as Princess Sailor Moon from Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon, photo by Vasilion Photography

Thanks for the interview, SSFSeiyaKou/Seiya! To see more of her work, you can visit her website and her Facebook page.

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interview with SSFSeiyaKou/Seiya

  1. Lyndzy says:

    I love your Sesshoumaru cosplay!

Leave a Reply

