My Fanime

Etaru as Rosa, NealBomBad as Cecil, and Yunie-chan (Me) as Rydia, photo by Joseph Chi Lin

Over Memorial Day weekend, I was lucky enough to attend Fanime in San Jose, CA after much poking and prodding from several friends. Our room was packed with international travelers, such as ToasterSix from New York, Etaru from Montana, Floatyman from Australia, and PinkBunnie from Canada. We had a blast, and after the tough couple of weeks that I’ve had, it was the perfect group to be around.

Now, I’m not gonna lie, I didn’t really do much at the convention other than attend everything for being in the Masquerade as a favor to Teca, a close friend from Colorado. What little I did do made sense, though. Things were very organized from registration for the convention (it takes awhile with everyone in attendance) to all the prep-work for the Masquerade. I was rather impressed.

Most of the convention I spent in costume, hanging out with friends from everywhere and taking photos. I reaffirmed and made new connections, and everyone that knew about what’s happened to me over the last couple of weeks quickly offered hugs and words of support, whether they just met me or not. This is part of the reason I love the cosplay scene; the sense of family I felt here was amazing. Photographers and cosplayers were no longer labeled as such, but friends and family.

I also admit I spent a lot of time in our room or at my friend, NealBomBad’s, enjoying alcohol. Heh. 😀 Room parties were just as enlightening and enjoyable as the con, though!

Concerning the Masquerade… the speaker during most of it was obnoxious. I understand he was trying to be witty and funny, but it quickly became annoying. And please fellow cosplayers, lay off the dance skits. I understand you worked hard on it, as I used to be in a performance troupe, but at least allow it to make sense to the series that you’re portraying. Make it one of those things people will remember and wanna imitate! Get creative with your talent! 😀

For costumes, I brought Dark Sakura from Fate/Stay Night, an original Dark Sakura swimsuit, Rinoa from Final Fantasy VIII, Armitage from Armitage III, Rydia from Final Fantasy IV, and Princess Serenity from Sailor Moon. Due to a knee injury I received (and still suffering from) and time constraints, I never wore the swimsuit or Armitage. : / Means I’ll have to figure out when to wear those next.

Overall, I enjoyed the convention. There’s a lot of people who I was happy to see and meet, a ton of very talented photographers, and a beautiful and food-filled XD location! I hope to return again for 2012!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

