Interview with Yunie

It’s time for another interview, this time with Yunie… er, me! I decided to do my own answers to the interview questions after I hit the halfway point of all the cosplayer interviews I had accumulated.

Yunie out of costume

What is your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
My alias is Yunie, though most people honestly call me Koi. Yunie was a name I had chosen waaaaaaaay before Final Fantasy X. It was a cute, short version of Uni made more “Japanese sounding” as I didn’t want the alias Unicorn.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I’ve been cosplaying since September 2001. My friends had wanted to make costumes for the local convention, Nan Desu Kan, and I decided to join in. I’ve been cosplaying ever since!

Yunie as Esper Terra from Final Fantasy VI, photo by Idolatry Studios

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
My favorite stuff to work with is spandex, as I have a hard time tailoring to my tiny self and I NEVER have problems with any stretch fabrics. I also enjoy working with craft foam, as it can do so much after you start engineering projects.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I’m excited for designing a bunch of new costumes. I’ve been getting more into original creations and working on my tailoring skills. I’m also excited to be making wings soon!

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I love seeing people think outside the box and get creative, while making it look clean. Lilyxandra, Yaya Han, AmazonMandy, and Etaru are all people who do this. They take their own creative ideas to a costume, but make it look crisp and clean.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I think it can be fun and positive, but people really do need to stop being so judgmental. We’re doing a fun hobby, and the competitive people or the perfectionists need to just calm down and enjoy themselves instead of nitpicking. We’re supposed to be a fun-loving community!

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I’d like people go back to just having fun, but still being respectful. Running around a convention yelling memes gets obnoxious. I don’t mind if people are loud, but remember you’re not the only one attending.

Yunie as Sailor Galaxia from Sailor Moon, photo by Darkain.com

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
When deciding a project, choose something you want to do, but that you feel comfortable doing. Give yourself plenty of time when you’re starting out. It takes time and practice to make something and when you’re putting so much time and energy in, you want to be proud of it, like a piece of art. As you get better and more comfortable with what you’re doing, start branching out, but we all start out doing simple stuff first for a reason!

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
My favorite conventions hands-down are Fanime and Sakuracon, not only for the locations, but the people attending. San Jose and Seattle are gorgeous locations, but they have tons of amazing people attending with beautiful creations!

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
Oh jeez… Well, Rydia’s wig was hand-dyed! It was supposed to be a forest green and was more of a teal color, so I took Fabric markers and hand-colored it, allowing it to keep a gradient as well!

Yunie as Rydia from Final Fantasy IV, photo by Idolatry Studios

Thanks for reading! You can check out more of my work on my website and my Deviantart!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interview with Yunie

  1. Juju says:

    I was wondering when you’d do one with your own answers!! ❤

Leave a Reply

