Interview with Hezachan

It’s time for another interview, this time with Hezachan! She’s a lovely and talented cosplayer living in Wisconsin with an awesome assortment of creations!

Hezachan out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
My alias is HezaChan. Most people might think that I chose this name for myself since it’s technically my real name but with Japanese pronunciation, when in reality I didn’t. My friend Valerie always called me Heza-chan ever since middle school, so it sort of stuck. However, back then I didn’t know that the romanization of it would have a dash between my name and the honorific.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
Technically I started cosplaying in 2000 at a Halloween party, but I guess I don’t really count it because it wasn’t at an event — so I suppose I started in 2001 when I went to my first convention. I had no idea what “cosplay” was other than people dressed up in costume as their favorite characters at other events (such as sci-fi conventions) so I figured I’d give it a shot. If it wasn’t allowed, I’d just change out. So once I got to my first con and saw others dressed up as well, I completely flipped out (in a good way) and I have been cosplaying ever since!

Hezachan as Cutie Honey from Re: Cutie Honey, photo by LJinto

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I really love working with vinyl. It can be such a difficult fabric to work with, but the more I work with it, the more I seem to learn about it. It always presents a challenge and I like that. I also love to style wigs even though I’m not the best and I sort of just wing it. I just love getting to work on a wig as soon as it comes in the mail!

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I really want to try my hand at resin-casting, but that will have to wait until I have the sort of income it takes to buy all the molds and resin itself. I am also looking forward to working with body paint or cake makeup because I want to cosplay as Kneesocks from Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I love seeing costumes that use a lot of odds and ends that you would find around the house, especially on props. Cosplay MacGyvers are what I like to call them. I also like seeing people who take the time to do the small details in a costume, even if most people will notice them, or they are covered up (like having accurate socks, or even underwear, lol).

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I find it’s not the same as it was when I started. It seemed a lot friendlier back then, and everyone got a long pretty well because we all knew at that time that we were just dorks in costume — not saying a lot of people don’t feel this way, but with the newer generation and with anime/manga/video games becoming more mainstream, I tend to see and hear about a lot of animosity between fans/cosplayers about who and what is superior. Buncha hoo-ha if you ask me.

Hezachan as Faye from Cowboy Bebop, photo by LJinto

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I would like to see where everyone can get along and just enjoy each other’s work, and not put some cosplayers on a pedestal — not that they aren’t good at what they do and are great people, but I think others should have the chance to shine, knowwhati’msayin?

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Remember that it’s for fun — although you may take your work and craftsmanship seriously, don’t take the hobby overall with such seriousness. Enjoy yourself, and cosplay who you want regardless of your body type/age/height etc.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I really enjoyed attending SugoiCon and Ikasucon back in Cincinnati, OH. I have been going to both of those cons since they started, but ever since I moved to WI, I haven’t had the chance to go back to those conventions. Sure they were small, but they were more personal, and I loved that about them. Anime Central is always fun as well since there is such a huge amount of people there, and there are always amazing costumes to stare at!

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
My I-no costume is made completely out of non-stretch vinyl. It was hell to try to get it to form fit to my body being the cheap Halloween-quality crap that it was, but I think it turned out alright!

Hezachan as I-no from Guilty Gear XX, photo by Claire Iverson-Burt

Thanks for the interview, Hezachan! You can check out more of her work on her website, her Deviantart, her Twitter, and her Facebook!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

