Interview with Khamryn

It’s time for another interview, this time with Khamryn! She’s a long-time cosplayer from Colorado, whose talent ranges from making costumes and designing wigs, to making armor and jewelry!

Khamryn out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
Khamryn. Originally it belonged to a character from long ago that’s part of a huge universe I’ve been working on since I was around 12 years old, but I liked it so much it’s actually my name now and the character has had a name change. 🙂 The original spelling is Cameron, but I didn’t like it that way, haha.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
Let’s start off with a little back story! My father was a pioneer of IFGS, in fact he helped write the rules for it. My mother was in the SCA and Star Trek scene. As you can imagine, I inherited their love for gaming and costuming. Officially I started cosplaying in 1999, 12 (*_*) years ago. When I was young my father would bring raw anime VHS back for me to watch after he got back from an importing trip for plastic model kits. Of course at the time, and for many years after, I had no clue that was the term for it.

In 1999 a few friends of mine told me about this convention for Japanese animation in Denver, and they mentioned how people would dress up as characters from it. Now knowing that the tapes I loved so much were called anime and there were so much more than what I had, I just had to get in on with. So with 2 weeks to spare I put together a pretty ghetto Rubeus costume and voila! A cosplayer was born. 😄

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing

Khamryn as Cloud from Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children, photo by Firefly-Path.net

costumes and why?
Honestly it’s the various fabrics I get to handle. I generally think: “If I had to wear this every day, what would it be made out of?” Bringing the character to life is my goal, for love of the character and the creative mind behind it/the manga or anime.

I find the making of weapons and armor fascinating as well, but typically just watch my friends do it. 🙂

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
Well, hopefully someday I’ll have enough money to buy this amazing fiber optic fabric. I’d like to create wings with it for something like Kratos from Tales of Symphonia. Why? It’d just be too cool to walk around with glowing wings!

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I enjoy seeing the amount of work others put into their own costumes. I have been known to stare at my friends’ costumes intently just to see the seaming, bead work, and any other things the costume may have on it. Wigs lately have really been catching my attention too—people are getting really good! It’s also really nice to see people just enjoy themselves in their costumes. It seems that gets forgotten sometimes, so it’s always refreshing to see. 🙂

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
It’s a really great creative outlet for people of all ages. Some of the costumes now-a-days are completely awe-inspiring!

Khamryn as Ingway from Odin Sphere, photo by Idolatry Studios

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
A return to the fun, laid back atmosphere that existed in the early days. I’ll take what I can get though; if everyone attending has fun then it’s all good. 😉

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Try to tackle simple costumes first, and looks can be deceiving. You’ll be a lot happier and less frustrated if you build up to the big floofy costumes instead of trying to tackle them right off the bat. Also, don’t be afraid to ask other cosplayers for help!

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Anime Expo definitely! I have lots of fond memories of that convention. I also enjoyed Otakon 2000 a lot; it was my first big con. It’s more the memories of the convention than the content; friends are what make the con for me. 🙂

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I never knew how to make armor before Terra, a good friend of mine (Inoli) taught me. It’s a pretty cool talent! I also had never made a prop before, it was pretty fun.

Khamryn as Terra from Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep

Thanks for the interview, Khamryn! Hope to continue seeing you at conventions in the future! 😀

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

