Interview with Tasu

It’s time for another interview, this time with Tasu! She’s a cosplayer who has done some amazing costumes and has some seriously awesome crossplay skills!

Tasu out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
When I was about 15 years old, some friends and I were really into Fushigi Yuugi and were claiming characters. I ended up with Tasuki due to my fear of water and love of the color orange. I shortened it and it has been my alias ever since. My parents sometimes even call me Tasu.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
Almost nine years. Before doing the whole convention thing I made a few Halloween costumes of anime characters but never really anything impressive. I went to my first anime convention in 2003 and I met some cosplayers who threw me into their costumes and got me hooked on cosplay.

Tasu as Kyoya from Gyakuten Saiban 4, photo by Ivy

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
Vinyl and pleather, I just love how they look and I feel like I learn something new every time I work with them.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
Tidus from Final Fantasy X and Alessandro XVIII from Trinity Blood. I feel like every cosplayer needs a Final Fantasy costume and I’ve finally reached the point where one is within my skill level, likewise with Trinity Blood.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I love seeing crossplayers utilize make-up; it really brings a look together. With some contouring even the cutest of girls can make the manliest of men.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
The community is so diverse it’s really hard for me to just sum up my complete views on it. I run into dicks as well as really amazing people. The only thing that really ties anyone together is the love of playing dress-up.

Tasu as Neku from The World Ends with You, photo by Tako

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I suppose I wish people would look in the mirror and ask themselves “is this how I want to present myself?” Because there’s been many a time where I’ve seen a young girl wear loosely glued together chunks of fabric that leave nothing to the imagination. One never knows who they are going to run into or where their picture may end up.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
We all started somewhere, people just doesn’t come out of the womb dressed as Ciel.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I love AnimeLA; its small enough that I can find my friends but large enough I can keep myself entertain. I also like Fanime because they’ll have J-music guests that I like.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I did so much research when I was working on Madame Red for my girlfriend, I feel like I not only made a costume but passed a history test.

Tasu as Drossel from Kuroshitsuji, photo by Lionel Lum

Thanks for the interview, Tasu! You can see more of her work at her website!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

