Interview with Dea Thea

It’s time for another interview, this time with Dea Thea! She’s a cosplayer in Washington, who also does photography!

Dea Thea out of costume, photo by Al

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
Dea is an alteration of my name that I sort of created since most of my friends didn’t like calling me D. Later on I found out that it means Goddess in Latin. Thea is from a character I once created by taking the name Athena and taking out A and N. It is also Latin. Star was picked simple because I love stars and love how they shine in the night. I like to use Dea Thea when I cosplay and use Dea Star as a business name and sometimes I will use Dea Thea Star as a full name. ;3

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I have been cosplaying for about 11 years, but only did about one costume a year and wasn’t really into it that much. Only in the last three years I have become more involved with it by making/buying more costumes, doing monthly photo shoot meet-ups, going to more cons and starting a business (jewelry/accessories) dealing with cosplay and self-publishing a book called NW Cosplay (cosplay photography).

Dea Thea as Lina from Slayers, photo by Joe

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
My favorite thing to make for costumes is resin. I have done some commission work and love it, but sadly I haven’t needed it for my own yet. Resin is all sorts of fun, mixing it, adding color and waiting two days for it to harden. For some reason it’s so addictive to do.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I’m so excited to do some costumes from The Little Mermaid. I have long red hair and my boyfriend will be a perfect Eric. ;3

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
The use of good fabric is the key to a great costume. Spend the extra dough for it, if you are worried about it going wrong, take a bed sheet (you can buy them for 2 – 4bucks at thrifts stores) and make it with that first before you use the good fabric (which I always do). There are a lot of cosplayers I admire, some of them I know and some I don’t. It would be too long of a list to make.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I see lots of creativeness and it’s just pure awesomeness. I love meeting new people and catching up with my con buddies. Getting asked to have my picture taken is fun and I love taking photos of all the great cosplayers!

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I would like to see is more people in costume. I’ve been to a few cons where 90% of the people are dressed up and it’s makes a con so much cooler!

Dea Thea as Meg from Burst Angel, photo by Joe

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
The best advice I can give is don’t let people get to you if they bash on you. I was a target of this once and it got to me bad; I was told I was full of myself and was a horrible cosplayer but I had to remind myself that these people didn’t know me and that the reason why they pick on people is to make themselves feel better, which is just lame. Here is a little insert from a book by Dale Carnegie “When you are kicked and criticized, remember that it is often done because it gives the kicker a feeling of importance. It often means that you are accomplishing something and are worthy of attention. No one ever kicks a dead dog.” Also be very thankful to people! Always say thank you to people who take your picture and those that you take pictures of. Try your best to remember faces and names and whenever you see them be so happy to see them!

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
My favorite convention is Kumori Con because it reminds me of Sakura Con when it was smaller and it feels more down to earth and fan based. I also really like Aki Con since it is a new con and I love that they have one room with different setups that is open to anyone for photo shoots!
 
Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
It was so hard to make Croissant Masks mask since I made it with lightweight clay you bake. I had to keep reshaping it and shrinking it since it just wanted to expand and lay flat and then I had to sand away my finger prints.

Dea Thea as Poison Ivy from Batman, photo by Alex

Thanks for the interview, Dea Thea! You can see more of her work at her SmugMug, her Facebook, her Deviantart, and her photography Facebook!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

