Interview with Minxie

It’s time for another interview, this time with Minxie! She’s a lovely cosplayer with a lot of Sailor Moon costumes under her belt! 😀

Minxie out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
My cosplay alias is “Minxie”, or “Minxie Kitten”. It sort of chose me, really; during a rather failed hair-dye session, my brother pointed out the black/brown/ginger mess looked an awful lot like my cat Minnie’s fur. Since we call her “Minnie the Minx” or just “Minxie”, it sort of stuck on me!

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I’ve been cosplaying for 12 years, and I got started because of Starlight Express the musical.

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
By far, my favorite thing to work with in costume construction has to be poly-cotton (boring, I know!). It’s easy to handle, doesn’t move around when you’re pinning and cutting, and doesn’t fray as badly as other fabric (I’m lookin’ at you, organza).

Minxie as Sailor Chibimoon from Sera Myu, photo by Eurobeat King

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I’m excited to begin work on armor construction for a World of Warcraft cosplay. I’ve not worked with armor before, and it’s going to be a challenge, which I thoroughly enjoy. Just as long as I give myself enough time to complete the costume!

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I love to see full skirts and neat bodices on female costumes, and I have a real weakness for tailcoats and jackets on male costumes. TenTen/Electricfreight makes crossplaying and wearing a tailcoat seem effortless, and she looks stunning.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
My view on the ‘cosplay scene’ is somewhat mixed. On the one hand, I have met a spectacularly wonderful group of people whom I utterly adore and cannot be without. On the other hand, there are always those odd ones who make me feel uncomfortable about it, be it their negative attitude towards others, or their disregard of social niceties (such as ‘excuse me’ instead of a shove).

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
Less drama, more acceptance of others.

Minxie as Michiru from Sailor Moon, photo by Nert at ManyLemons.com

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
For the love of all that is fluffy, give yourself enough time to finish the costume for the deadline you’ve set! Don’t fall into the “Oh heck, I have to get this finished tomorrow, time for an all-night sew-a-thon!” You will feel so, so much happier with your work if you’ve been able to sit down and do all the little extra bits that might not be necessary, but look good.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Minamicon and Ayacon in theUK are my two favorite conventions, hands-down. They’re much smaller thanUS conventions (Minamicon being smaller even than Ayacon) and because of that I find they feel more personal. I’ve gotten to know committee members by name and face (rather than just anonymous-type emails or recognizing a badge). They are light-hearted and fun (Minamicon’s masquerade isn’t a ‘proper’ competition; the judges come up with amusing categories to award, such as the “Wobbliest Prong Award” and the “Crufts Award”).

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
One of the costumes I have been most proud about is my 3rd or 4th re-do of live action Sailor Moon/PSGM Sailor Moon.  The waistband, which always gives me issues, is actually made of pipe insulation.  I wear plumbing! XD

Minxie as Sailor Moon from Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon, photo by Madfruitbat

Thanks for the interview, Minxie! Hope to be able to see you at con sometime soon! 😀

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interview with Minxie

  1. Etaru says:

    I love her outfits, such detailed Myu Chibimoon!

Leave a Reply

