Interview with Mint

It’s time for another interview, this time with Mint! She’s a spunky and talented cosplayer from Colorado, who loves to get creative with her costuming!

Mint out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
I’m Mint. It’s a long running joke about the mint fields in Idaho, and became my nickname. I adore it. :3

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I started in 2002 (officially), when I moved back to my hometown and started cosplaying with Yunie and Teca, who are my two best friends in the whole wide world! Unofficially, I started in the 8th grade with a rather horrible Sailor Neptune costume for Halloween one year. Halloween is my favorite holiday; so naturally, the year-round costuming is a huge bonus in life.

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I honestly had a lot of fun with the rivets in my Freya Crescent costume. Mostly because I could beat on things and make it look pretty. I also like heavier materials, because I like how they fit my frame, since I’m a robust individual.

Mint as Freya from Final Fantasy IX, photo by Consplayers.com

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
Well, I stopped cosplaying for several years to focus on my career and family, but now that I’m getting back into it, I really want to work more with resin. I’d also like to start coming up with some bright ideas of my own for costume pieces.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I love it when it’s clear someone’s having fun. It could be the most ridiculously low cost costume (like my $10 Shikamaru), but as long as you’re having fun, that’s the important part. It is a hobby, and I personally believe that it should only be taken seriously to a point (like, if you’re making money off it!), because life’s too short to get stressed over other people’s costumes.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
Well, I quit for some time, because I was focused on my career as a preschool teacher. I’ve sort of fallen out of the ‘scene,’ but I really enjoy the people who have an unadulterated love for culture, cosplay, and characters. That’s what makes the ‘scene’ worth going back to!

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I’m certain this is going to be a bit of a common theme, but the drama can go. It’s hard to get that many people together and not have any disagreements, but things get blown out of proportion way too fast. I know I over-exaggerate; it’s part of our generational attributes (sadly). But if you remember that you’re at a con to have fun, to see people, to meet people, and to enjoy what you love, it’s easier to drop the extra stress.

Mint as Koopa Troopa from Super Mario Brothers

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Do your best! Unless you’re someone who really enjoys the smaller details (which, I know there are a lot of people who do), getting basic principles down is a great way to start. Sometimes, choosing an easy costume over more detailed ones will offer you less of a headache in the long run. As your abilities improve, so will your attention to detail. But again, don’t stress over the small things unless that’s what you enjoy. No one will notice if a corner is cut here or there.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Nan Desu Kan is my home con. It has a special place in my heart. But I also really enjoy the larger cons like StarFest, because I’m able to get a variety of fandoms! I must admit, the convention is more about the people than it is about the con for me; if my friends are there, I’ll love it.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I think Cornet from Rhapsody has to be my favorite costume. It’s not a well known video game, but it was fun to fangirl with people who knew the game (and to sing the songs!). I think the best thing about that costume was the big hat, and the fact that I could use my moderate quilting skills to create the trim on the tunic. I think this costume will have to be resurrected!

Mint as Cornet from Rhapsody, photo by Consplayers.com

Thanks for the interview, Mint! You can check out more of her work on her website!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Interview with Mint

  1. Etaru says:

    Quilting in cosplay, that’s serious skill right there hon ❤

  2. Ana says:

    Do you make these for sale? My son loved the Koopa Troopa costume.

Leave a Reply

