Interview with PockyPrincessDarcy

It’s time for another interview, this time with PockyPrincessDarcy! She’s a talented girl from New Hampshire with a huge collection of costumes!

PockyPrincessDarcy as May Wong from Kaleido Star

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
PockyPrincessDarcy. When I signed up for my first cosplay profile which was on American Cosplay Paradise around 2001 or so, it was required to have an alias. At that time at conventions I was just known as my real name Darcy, so it was kinda hard for me to come up with anything since I’ve never had a nickname before. I think the pocky princess came from a high school project in graphic arts where I came up with this original character called the pocky fairy.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
12 years. Seeing the reports in Animerica magazine in 1997 of Project A-kon got me eager to go to a convention. When my best friend in high school told me that there was one in PA in 1999 we could travel to, I was all for it. She told me we would have to go to the convention dressed as our favorite anime characters. I went as Lina Inverse from Slayers because I am huge Slayers fan and she went as Sailor Venus.

PockyPrincessDarcy from Strawberry Panic!

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
Wigs, sculpey, and paint. Mainly because those are things I am naturally good at. 

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
Resin because I like mixing things together.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I’m all about accuracy. I love to see costumes that get even the smallest of details right. Plus, I love when cosplayers embellish colors of the costumes, making their fabric choices look vibrant. I know so many good cosplayers with those traits, but if I had to choose a few I’d say off the top of my head Amazon Mandy, Pixie Kitty, Envel, Windofthestars, and Hime no Toki. 

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
Catty-failed-model-attention-whores who only cosplay from the same popular fandoms over and over again. Oh yeah…and there are a few nice people too. 

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
How much time do you have? LOL Well, for now I will say the attitudes of cosplayers. I’d also like to see a lot less skimpy costumes done for attention and get back to the root of why we did this in the first place, “to show our love for our favorite anime and video game characters”. I’d like to see a lot more variety of costumes when I go to a future convention and not the same characters from the same cliche fandoms.

PockyPrincessDarcy as Sydney Bloom from Chaotic Kiss, photo by NG Master

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
I know the cosplay community has made such high standards for everyone, but really you can’t expect yourself to be perfect right away. It’s all about progression. The more you practice, the better you will get. Don’t let others nitpicking kill your fun.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Anime Festival Orlando because of how beautiful the weather is there, nice photo areas, nice attendees, good events, great hotel, and it feels like you are on a vacation on top of being at a convention! Another Anime Convention because it’s my home convention in New Hampshire, I meet local people who become homies that I get to hang with each week, it’s at a hotel shaped like a castle, good events, and is pretty laid back. Anime Next because I get to be the MC of the masquerade event, get to see lots of great friends from the east coast, and its great way to start off the summer convention season.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I can’t just pick one, so I am going to answer that I am proud that each costume I make always has non-fraying seams because of my awesome serger! I refuse to make a costume without a serger since I got my hands on one in 2003. It’s a blessing from the sewing gods, lol!

PockyPrincessDarcy as Nayuki from Kanon

Thanks for the interview, PockyPrincess Darcy! You can see more of her work on her American Cosplay Paradise account!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

