Interview with Ayriel

It’s time for another interview, this time with Ayriel! She’s a talented girl from Mexico who has made some lovely costumes and plans to continue doing so!

Ayriel out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
Ayriel. I’ve been Ayriel even before I started to cosplay. I got the name Ariel from a name generator and put on the Y by mistake 😛 and now it reminds me of my favorite band, Ayreon. Later, I found out Ayriel is actually a real name… It’s a boring story, hahaha!

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
5 years, as I started in March 2006. I found out what cosplay was around September 2005 at my first con; I thought cosplayers were so brave then! Some friends at a local forum planned a Visual Kei cosplay. I really loved Malice Mizer by that time (I still love them), so I took clothes I already had in my closet, put on some makeup, and pretended to be Klaha… I admit at first I was very interested in having a discount at the entrance thanks to the cosplay, but now I don’t really care. 😛 I haven’t stopped since then, even if there’s hardly any discount now.

Ayriel as Maria Renard from Castlevania, photo by Cato Kusanagi

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
Generally, small things. XD I can make a big and plain costume without enjoying it, but if it’s a small costume with a lot of details, I’ll love it forever. My favorite detailing experiences until now have been with: fabric paint (using stencils and also freehanded), sequins, big flowers (sewing them in a dress), any kind of bead working, and acrylic paint for shoes. I like to keep myself entertained.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I’m looking forward to a lot of detailed costumes, new sewing experiences, new fabrics and new materials. I want to learn to make armor pieces with simple materials. I would also love to make petticoats and corsets, feathers, big wings, weird and very fitted bodysuits, and capes longer than my height. 😛 And of course some props, mostly swords and daggers.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I love when cosplayers are able to get completely into the character even if she/he is completely different from them. One would think everything is about facial features or body type, but I’ve seen many cosplayers with the sweetest features that manage to portray the sexiest character! I find it really difficult to look evil or sexy just by my expression; I’ve tried it so many times… I think Elsch is amazing with this. She’s my favorite cosplayer, but also she can look so sweet and beautiful with some characters, and also sexy or evil with others. She can be the prettiest girl but also the most handsome boy! I would love to be like that.

Ayriel as Luka from Vocaloid

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
In my country (Mexico), I think there’s a 50-50 in attitude… Half the people are really supportive and friendly, but the other half thinks this is like a competition for who has more fans or who makes the “best” costumes, or who gets more comments or “likes” on Facebook. XD Many people forget this is a hobby and an important part of our life, and that this is supposed to be for fun…

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I would love people to see how much effort everyone makes, especially cos-makers. There are people that see some mistake and instantly they say it like it’s a sin or something without thinking how much the cosplayer/cosmaker thought about repairing or doing it the better way possible. I also would stop all the unnecesary criticism towards cosplayers as “childish” or “immature”. And, of course, the sense of competition. We should help each other, not destroy one another!

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Mostly… have fun! Be prepared for cameras, be prepared for criticism but don’t feel bad for it, don’t be part of it either, make friends, enjoy it, make every cent count! ❤

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I can’t mention American cons, I haven’t been to any… But with the cons in my region, my favorite is definitely Gamacon. It’s mostly oriented towards videogames, but they make a good mix of games, computers, art, music, even “lucha libre”… Most people couldn’t do that.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
My Terra Branford (Final Fantasy VI) costume is my biggest pride. All the flowers, all the details, every accessory was made by me. At that time I had absolutely no idea about how to use fabric paint, so I just took some white paint as a base and started to make some magic hahah… I put on a layer of white paint… then another… then the color… and the color wasn’t the right one so I had to put another color and yet a third one… That happened with two of the flowers on the dress, I really can’t think how it turned out well after all that.

Ayriel as Terra from Final Fantasy VI, photo by Cato Kusanagi

Thanks for the interview, Ayriel! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

