Photographer Interview with Colorado Beauties Photography

Michael Scott of Colorado Beauties Photography is a photographer from Colorado, obviously, who has recently gotten into cosplay photography!

Michael Scott of Colorado Beauties Photography

How many years have you been into photography and what got you into cosplay photography?
I have been taking pictures for a little over ten years now. I started out doing landscape photography, but got really bored when I was editing them. I first started doing fashion shots at local runway shows, and it became an interest. Although taking pictures of models in various outfits was fun… I wanted more! I wanted to take photos of the models in costumes and put my experience with fashion into the shots.

What regions do you usually cover, and do you charge for photoshoots? Also, how does one get in contact to shoot with you?
I don’t really have a specific place I shoot at. Pretty much anywhere in Colorado. However I will be at this year’s NDK (first con). As far as charging for my shoots, you might want to sit down for this one. I don’t charge! This is my hobby and charging would defeat the whole purpose of having a hobby.

Yunie as Bellydancer from Granado Espada, photo by Colorado Beauties Photography

What type of photoshoots do you prefer and why?
I haven’t had the chance to do it yet, but I love the Sailor Moon series. Other than that, I love the bizarre outfits that you wouldn’t normally see in your everyday mundane lives.

What is some of your favorite equipment you work with and why?
I use my Nikon D60 with a 50mm lens, and a light disk. Sadly it’s the only equipment that survived the move from California(some of my boxes got “misplaced” by the moving company).

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I get really excited about taking pictures of everyone and now getting into the world of cosplay, I feel like a fat kid in a candy store with a stolen credit card!

What are some of the traits you like to see in other photographers and who do you think does them well?
I really like to see originality in photos, along with great toning and lighting!!! I have seen and watched a lot of photographers on Deviant Art, and I really like Blizzard Terrak from California, Ucce from Poland, and Wings of Smoke from Colorado. There are many, many more but too many to actually mention.

Meesha as Ciel from Kuroshitsuji, photo by Colorado Beauties Photography

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I love it!! Everyone I have met have been really nice and polite, even when you don’t know anything about the costume or the character are willing to start telling you the life story of that character. It’s a really nice change of pace, which makes the cosplay world way more fun to shoot than the fashion world.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
Nothing!! I know it sounds weird, but I love everything about the whole scene.  I love all the cool and interesting people, along with all the really cool costumes and everyone who put the time in to make their costumes.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into photography?
Have patience!!! Photography is not something you can learn overnight. I have been doing this for a long time and I am still learning new ways to pose models, and different techniques to getting that great shot.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Sadly I have not attended any conventions yet!! But I will be at the Nan DesuKan this year, so I’m a little excited and nervous!!!

Yunie as Elegant Gothic Lolita Rei from Evangelion, photo by Colorado Beauties Photography

Thanks for the interview, Michael! To check out his work and contact him for a shoot, you can check out his Deviantart (http:// coloradobeauties.deviantart.com), his Facebook account (https://www.facebook.com/coloradobeauties), and his webpage (http://coloradobeautiesphotography.weebly.com)!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

