Interview with Ayáme Libertine

It’s time for another interview, this time with Ayáme Libertine! She’s a friendly cosplayer that I met via Facebook and have been getting to know recently!

Ayáme Libertine out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
Ayáme Libertine; Ayáme was given to me by a friend when I first started out RPing, It’s a combination of three of my OC’s names, Ivy (A), Yakui (Yá), and Mercury (Me). Libertine comes from the last name my husband uses for Reno from Final Fantasy VII

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
About 4 years now. What got me started cosplaying was when I was in 10th grade we had this week called “Red Ribbon Week” where we had these different days for dressing different than normal, and one of those days was super heroes vs villains day. I wanted to cosplay as Cloud, but the last time I tried that I screwed up my hair and didn’t have the right clothes, plus I had just dyed my hair red. Well, my friend suggested Reno and I’ve been cosplaying him ever since.

Ayáme Libertine as Reno Wolf from Final Fantasy VII

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
Well I just started making cosplays. The farthest I’ve gotten was sewing the eyes on the hood for my friend’s Medusa cosplay, and making the arrow tail for her. I like sewing so I guess that’s my favorite part.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I’m hoping to eventually start working on fursuits and maybe one day learning how to sew clothes for myself to wear.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I like to see the person in character; it’s no fun to see someone cosplaying as a character who’s not hyper and they themselves are hyper. One of the best people who does this well is a girl named Jordyn Peterson. She does an amazing Little Sister from Bioshock and Witch from Left 4 Dead.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
The cosplay scene is a mixture of a wide variety of different people that come together to have a good time, from those new to anime to those who refer to themselves as Furries. It’s something that brings us all together to enjoy something we all share.

Ayáme Libertine as Medusa from Soul Eater

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I want to see people who come to cons just to pick at people disappear. Like seriously, we come to cons to get away from people like that.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Don’t judge yourself because your cosplay isn’t as great as you want it to be. Everyone starts off with a crappy cosplay; look at me, I have horrible cosplay pics of myself.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I Love ExpCon and MegaCon, both located in FL. ExpCon was my VERY first convention where I cosplayed as Sexy Jutsu Gaara. MegaCon is just HUGE and has sooo much to choose from and so much to do.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
When I started out cosplaying Reno, I just took a jacket my mom had in her closet, my uncle’s white button up shit, my ex’s black pants and some sunglasses for his outfit. A few years later, I walked into a thrift store and was looking around and found a perfect zip up jacket for my Reno cosplay.

Ayáme Libertine as Reno from Final Fantasy VII, photo by Kenneth Davis

Thanks for the interview, Ayáme Libertine! Hope to see you at a con soon!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

