Interview with Seiya

It’s time for another interview, this time with Seiya! She’s an amazing cosplayer from New York, with an awesome sense of humor!

Seiya as Ghost of Christmas Future from Tonnor Dolls

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
My cosplay alias is Seiya. The deep, profound, meaningful, totally rad, bodacious and to the extreme reason that I chose it was because it was the name of my favorite character and I clearly lack creativity.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
Good god, this makes me sound old… I’ve been cosplaying for 10 years now. I got started with it because a fanfiction friend of mine suggested it. Yes, I read/write fanfiction. Why be a faceless nerd? Why not throw on a costume and wear it on the outside? I’m sure my family regrets my decision to unleash my inner nerd.

Seiya as Sailor Jupiter from Sera Myu, photo by Poro-Poro.com

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
Some of my favorite things to work with have been spandex and body paint. The spandex because it’s fun to watch people try it on/fight their way into it only to then do retarded hoe-down dances. I’m not sure if this is soley for my entertainment or some sort of victory dance. The body paint because freaking my mail man out is awesome- “Why hello good sir, lovely day to run around in the red buff and gather my bills, isn’t it?”

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I want to chrome something- why? Because it’s shiny. Seriously. Very easily distracted here.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I really enjoy seeing simple costumes done well. I appreciate when a costumer takes the time to FIT the costume, not just throw it together. I’ve always been a fan of Rosiel, Zan and Celesmaxwell for this reason.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
Who are these people? Seriously. I remember going to cons (laughs at the ‘back in my day’ tone) and knowing all the cosplayers. Now I go and I’m “Sweet mustache, that’s awesome! Who is that?” I love that the hobby has grown! I feel that with the more of us ‘special’ people involved, the more badass the costuming/techniques are going to become!

Seiya as Sailor Starfighter from Sera Myu

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I don’t feel like I’m in the ‘scene’ enough to say anything about it- though free pizza to costumed masses couldn’t hurt, right? We’re dorks in costumes who run around fist-bump-fireworking other dorks in costumes at conventions, I don’t think I’d change a thing.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Get a second job, this is ridonkulously expensive

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
My favorite conventions are Anime Boston, because it’s close to home and all of my friends are there to fart around with. Katsucon, because it’s always an adventure and it’s big enough to keep myself entertained for more than an hour.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
A random fact huh? Hmmm… I couldn’t wear underwear with three of my costumes. Wanna guess which ones? OH! A random fact that I was PROUD of!! Well, I guess that would be that no matter how many door frames I smacked my Berserker Paine helmet into I never dented/chipped/broke it!

Seiya as Berserker Paine from Final Fantasy X-2

Thanks for the interview, Seiya! You can see more of her work on her Cosplay.com account!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

