Anime Weekend Atlanta 2011

This was my first time attending this convention, and while I didn’t get to see too much of it as I had a ton of rehearsals with Last Chance Myu, I saw enough to give it a decent review. 😀

First and foremost, the staff was awesome. Any questions or concerns were handled efficiently. The Director, Jason, had to be one of the nicest con directors I have ever met and handled any issues that came up with the greatest of ease and very professionally. They all seemed like they were having fun, and I haven’t seen a staff that way in a looooooong time.

The schedule book was confusing with their set up. They did it by rooms and days, instead of just a catalogue of events like most conventions. Scheduling also ran behind by Saturday, which also caused us some issues, but that comes with 95% of conventions.

The panel rooms and ballrooms were HUGE with some nice sound systems. The techies for our show were awesome and trying so hard to get things perfect for us. ❤ It was stupendous.

The hotels were decent, though a little crazy with fees, but the staff was friendly. Crossing a street without a crosswalk in Atlanta was terrifying, so that needs to be considered for next time. The skywalk after getting across the terrifying intersection was awesome, though. 😀 Now if only the wind had gone away while I was down there, lmao!

There were a ton of places to get food at, which was spectacular! I was quite the happy girl that I could eat to my little heart’s content. 😀

While there was a lot of people, it never felt crowded. It was such a nice set-up to not feel stuffed into a small tin can. It helped I was there with awesome people, which is one of the things that always makes a convention for me. 😀

All in all, I was pretty impressed with the convention. If Last Chance Myu gets invited back, I will definitely be attending. 😀 And if we weren’t, it’d definitely be on my list as a con to attend.

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anime Weekend Atlanta 2011

  1. Alyx says:

    As much as I love CA, I wish I could go to other cons in other states 😦

Leave a Reply

