Disappointment in JoAnn’s

First and foremost, I’m in Colorado. We have Hobby Lobby, Michael’s, JoAnn’s, and Denver Fabrics. There’s some other places, but we don’t have an OMG! selection of places to fabric shop.

Lately, I go into JoAnn’s and I can never find enough of the fabric I want/need. On top of that, my secondary choice usually isn’t there in the amount I need. I call around, no one has what I want/need, so I move onto my third choice. If I’m lucky, it’s there. If I’m too irritated, I switch to Denver Fabrics in all of their overpriced glory and find what I want for about another $20 more than I planned to spend. Needless to say, it’s ridiculous and irritating.

The next big issue? I do jewelry. When I buy pieces and pendants, I hate getting them home to find they were put together wrong or they’re broken as soon as the packaging’s open. This has happened more and more, and I know I can handle things roughly, but it’s insane how often this has happened… And don’t even think of attempting a refund. Getting credit in-store or your money back anywhere these days is like waging World War III.

On top of that, there is never enough people working the store. When I used to work at JoAnn’s, we always made sure to have plenty of people stocked. Apparently, to cut back on budget, this just doesn’t happen anymore. I’ve talked to employees, and they admit it’s getting ridiculous as well, but it’s what happens when companies make big changes. They also have told me how treatment of them has changed to where they always feel like the company expects them to be “thieves”, so they’re always on edge. Low morale, bad staffing, bad stocking of inventory… A good company this does not make.

So, needless to say, I’m growing more and more disappointed in JoAnn’s. I used to work there, am always shopping there, and now I look for other alternatives so that I don’t pull my hair out in a disgruntled rage.

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

