Interview with Tristansoul

It’s time for another interview, this time with Tristansoul! She’s an awesome cosplayer from California, who has quite the closet of costumes!

Tristansoul out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
My alias in the cosplay world is Tristansoul; it’s from the medieval romantic tragedy Tristan and Isolde. A lot of my online gaming characters are also named after it as well as my Nintendo DS. What can I say? I’m a romantic at heart. 😀

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I’ve been cosplaying for about 5 years now. A friend and I would watch a ton of anime together after school, like Sailor Moon and Gundam, and one day she turned to me and asked if I wanted to dress up as Sailor Venus with her. I thought she just meant Halloween and low and behold about 2 months later, I went to my first convention. Seeing a bunch of people nerdy like myself also dressed up was a really amazing feeling. I haven’t stopped doing it since.

Tristansoul as Dokuro-chan from Bludgeoning Angel Dokuro-chan, photo by Shaun Ausmus

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
My favorite material to work with at the moment is craft foam. It’s incredibly inexpensive (especially for college students on a budget), and if the process is done right it has amazing results.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
Expanding Foam! I am about to tackle my first big prop and I’m using expanding foam with a paper mache overlay. It makes big props light weight and is again, an inexpensive way to tackle big projects. I can’t wait to see the end result!

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I love to see when a person truly likes that character how far into detail and time they put into their costume. You can always tell when someone really likes the character they are portraying when you see the distance they went to complete their costume.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I think it’s just like any other. You have the good side and the dark side. There is always going to be a few people who try and ruin it for the rest of us. You just have to shrug it off and not let them. But from my group of friends, the cosplay scene is just a great time to get together and share in the passion of something we love.

Tristansoul as Planeswalker Elspeth Tirel from Magic: The Gathering, photo by Amanda Maupin

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I would definitely like to see a lot less hate, you could say, from the cosplay scene. People need to relax a little more and be a little less critical on other people’s costumes. And if they really must be heard, put it in a form of constructive criticism and not just outright verbally abuse someone.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Always pick a character you like. It makes it a lot easier to tackle a cosplay when you have the drive to do that character justice. And I notice I always get a little more creative and put the effort to put more details in when I’m a little more emotionally invested in the character.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Fanime, hands down. It’s not overly crowded and doesn’t have that “stuffed” feeling when you walk around. The dances and panels are so much fun and I think it attracts the best masquerade contestants around. And I don’t even have to begin to mention the other con attendees I’ve walked away with to many friends from there.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
The proudest moment would probably be from my most obscure costume, Richard the warlock from the online comic LFG. I actually met the creators and artist of the comic and they all absolutely loved my costume and insisted that they all get pictures with me.

Tristansoul as Princess Peach from Super Mario Brothers, photo by Eurobeat King

Thanks for the interview, Tristansoul! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart and her Cosplay.com account!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

