Attacking Your Dream Costumes

A couple of years back, I tackled one of my big dream costumes that I had set my eyes on when I first started getting into costuming. I fell in love with Naomi Armitage years ago when I first saw Armitage III: Poly-Matrix, and when I started cosplaying, I really wanted to make one of her costumes. However, I knew my skill level was faaaaar too low to even attempt tackling that beast.

Years passed, and as they would, I would sit down and look at images of her costumes and think about how I would make various things. If I couldn’t figure out a decent game plan for the majority of the costume, I’d tell myself “wait some more”, because that was a good sign that I wasn’t at the level I needed to be at yet.

Finally, one day, I sat down and started analyzing things on Armitage again. I realized that I knew how to do 90% of the costume, and what I didn’t know, I could get some good help and advice on. So, I took each piece and planned everything out, bit by bit, and began construction. There was a lot of trial and error, but things were working out amazingly well, and each time things went well, I was more and more inspired to continue working on Armitage.

Months went by, and I was finally finished with the beast. I was ecstatic that I had constructed a costume that I used to believe would be unattainable. I learned new things during Armitage’s construction that I never even remotely thought about that I now can use for other projects.

I’m glad with how I went about attacking my dream costume. I waited and waited, and when I knew I could do all the work for Armitage, I finally tackled her. And I couldn’t be happier with the results!

Yunie as Armitage from Armitage III: Poly-matrix, photo by Etaru with editing by Darkain

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

