Interview wih Sora/Yunie

It’s time for another interview, this time with Sora/Yunie! She’s a sweet cosplayer from Italy, who has quite the closet of costumes!

Sora/Yunie out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
Actually, I have two cosplay aliases. One is Sora, which comes from my OC character, and the other one is Yunie. XD I did not choose this one, it was given to me by a group of friends because I met them when I was doing the cosplay of Yuna from Final Fantasy X-2… and it has survived until now. XD

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I’ve been cosplaying since 2004 and I started out of curiosity, since I had seen some article talking about cosplay. I thought “Oh, it would be great to become one of my favorite characters for one day!”

Sora/Yunie as Ash from Kuroshitsuji, photo by Moreno Chiapparini

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
Although I find it hard to cut and sew, I like working with eco-leather, maybe because of the visual effect it gives. Another thing is the iron thread: it allows me to make big wings and defy gravity. ; D

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I would like to learn to use Forex and materials such as plastic, etc. My costumes lack armor parts, and I’m looking forward to having someone teach me how to make them!

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
Well, talking about costumes, I love seeing accurate costumes, most of all if they have plenty of little details. But since I love the “play” side of cosplay the most, for me the awesomeness would be a captivating sketch (and sometimes “big”costumes don’t allow a cosplayer to do it). Regarding the second part of the question, I think that there are wonderful cosplayers all around the world, so I’m not able to specify a particular one. XD

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I think this is a hell of a question. XD Here in Italy, the situation has worsened in the sense that the competitions are full of people criticizing, offending and things like “He/she should have not won! He/she didn’t deserve it. Look at that costume, it sucks!” I’m not saying that everyone does like this, but the majority does.

Sora/Yunie as Shenhua from Black Lagoon, photo by Luca Giacomo Bresadola

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
Less scandal-mongers and sharp tongues. Criticism has to be constructive, not a source of quarrels.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Do it for fun. Do it to learn to be creative. Do it to have fun with your friends at the conventions. That’s how cosplay should be, in my opinion…

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
My favorite convention ever is probably Lucca Comics. It is held in Lucca’s city, here in Italy, and it is the biggest one. I love the fact that you can walk around the city in cosplay. 😀 Also, I met a lot of fantastic people there.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
The thing I’m the most proud of (even if no one at the convention paid attention to me and my sketch partner…) is having been able to perform a dress change without problems and without even trying it before! And believe me, for an easily-troubled person like me, this was a great achievement! ^_^ The costume was that of Takiko Okuda from Fushigi Yuugi Genbu Kaiden. I changed from the normal haori-hakama dress to the priestess gown.

Sora/Yunie as Lilithmoon from Digimon X-ros Wars, photo by Moreno Chiapparini

Thanks for the interview, Sora/Yunie! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart and her Cosplay.com page!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

