Deciding and Doing Group Projects

I am one of those people who enjoys doing group projects with friends. The thing is, I have to be really into the designs or the series itself before I will even remotely consider joining a group. I also contemplate my group’s levels of skills, because if it’s out of our league… It’s out of our league. I like to try to plan basically a year ahead, because then you have plenty of time to decide if it’s really a project you want to pursue and give yourself time for construction if it is.

I’ve learned over the years, however, not to sign up for too many groups. I don’t want to attend a con to be changing costumes every two seconds. I’m there to see people, make new friends, and yes, get photos. It’s hard to do all of the above if you’re running back and forth to your room every two seconds.

But really, groups are great fun. You can basically wander around and get photos together, chat it up, and meet people who you’ve only planned things with online. You can attend new cons and not feel quite as alone in the crowd, because you’re with a group of people being dorks from the same series. In my opinion, I prefer it to creating my own costume… Unless it’s a character I HAVE to make, but that’s a different story, lol!

There is also a bad side to groups, however. If people prove to be unreliable constantly for said groups, especially concerning masquerade things, then I won’t work with them. I don’t want to be worrying about another person getting their stuff done, when I have plenty to worry about with myself. I want to see and hang out with them; I just don’t want to be mad at them for something so silly. I am one of those people who believes that once it’s agreed upon and started, it should be finished for the convention unless extenuating circumstances happen.

All in all, though, I do recommend group projects for your friends alone. But again, don’t sacrifice your happiness and costuming motivation if it’s not something you really want to do. ❤

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

