Interview with Ran/Flame R

It’s time for another interview, this time with Ran/Flame R! She’s a lovely cosplayer from Belarus, who is quite a talented seamstress!

Ran/Flame R as Beast from Kuroshitsuji, photo by Anton Timofeev

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
Formerly I used the name Ran Fujimia. It comes from the anime series, Weiss Kreus. I was 14 or 15 when I ran upon it. I love the name Ran, so I used it. But I don’t want people to associate me with only that character. So now I use only the first part without the surname. On DA and Diary (Russian blogs) I use Flame R. I changed it on my 19th birthday. There are no any special reasons or stories. That time I’d just thought that it didn’t sound bad. Then I found that it is the name of bike.

Ran/Flame R as Mana from Malice Mizer

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I’ve been cosplaying since 2006, but our first works are for private usage only. I don t regret that we did them. We had a lot of joy and happiness, and in any case, it was experience. But honestly it was very poor costumes (the fandom was Gunslinger Girls). And why did we start? We just did it. I met my future partner and one of best friends in 2005, we both liked anime and games. Through half a year, we cosplayed Gunslinger Girls.

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I really enjoy crafting. It’s the most complicated part of costumes, but the most interesting one. I like the preparations too. While we decide what material to use, which tincture will be more suitable, and discuss the details, there are always plenty of jokes and amusing situations.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I want to work or just try to work with big (human growth) functional feather wings. I have never worked with latex yet, so I hope I’ll take a chance to do it. I think that now I have enough experience to try. Every person should improve their skills. And its time for me to do something new and quite complicated.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I love costumes with lots of small details or with unusual cutting. You know there are so many good cosplayers even only in Russia. But if we speak about all the world, I can’t choose among all the Chinese, and Americans, and Europeans.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
Like everywhere there are a lot of persons I like, but at the same time you can find people I try not to interact because we have practically opposite outlooks. All are creative and talented. There are not plenty of cosplay events in my country (Honestly the country is quite small so we know each other). This year, I’ve noticed that the number of cosplayers is going up.

Ran/Flame R as Rosiel from Angel Sanctuary, photo by Kseniya Luchkova

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
There are some people who forget that cosplay is a kind of hobby first. I just wish they took it easier in life. I want to see great cosplays, but I don’t want people to take it too seriously.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Just try to enjoy the process. You will never please everybody. So meet new friends, get new skills, and have fun.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
In Belarus, it’s our autumn convention, Higan. I just like it without any special reason. By the way, usually there are good cosplayers and really interesting costumes. And I always do projects with friends (This year we participated in a cover dance nomination).

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I tried to junk my Cain Nightlord costume after the convention I wore it at (I was so tired and hated this costume so much!), but the girl from our checkroom asked to present it to her. And I did it.

Ran/Flame R as Cain from Trinity Blood

Thanks for the interview, Ran/Flame R! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

