Photographer Interview with BellaVoce

BellaVoce is an amazing photographer from Florida, who has some awesome photography skills that gain her beautiful shots!

BellaVoce

How many years have you been into photography and what got you into cosplay photography?
I’ve been into photography since I was about 13 years old. My father was the first to introduce me to photography. He helped me pick out my first point-and-shoot, a Fiji Film digital camera. Later, he helped me choose my very first professional camera, a Nikon D50. I got into cosplay photography after cosplaying only a few times as well as learning the basics of photography. Photographers like Maboroshi and Morataya increased my interest into getting into cosplay photography a little more.

What regions do you usually cover, and do you charge for photoshoots? Also, how does one get in contact to shoot with you?
I mostly cover Mid-South to Central Florida. Sarasota, St. Petersburg, Tampa, and Orlando are the main places I go. I do charge for photoshoots depending on how many people will be attending and how long I will be shooting. Anyone can contact me through email or text message.

IchigoKitty as Serah from Final Fantasy XIII, photo by BellaVoce

What type of photoshoots do you prefer and why?
I prefer a smaller group to work with, and most of them try to revolve around the theme or character of the series. It’s actually a little hard to find places here in St. Petersburg, but I try my hardest to venture out step-by-step. I like places that have an urban, bohemian, or natural atmosphere.

What is some of your favorite equipment you work with and why?
I enjoy working with my reflector, Speedlight SB-900, and my macro lens set — which I haven’t used in a long time.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
A few weeks from now, I’ll be up in Orlando for a Christmas shoot that Florida Cosplay Photography has put together. That’s the only photography-wise scheduled item. For cosplay, I’m currently attempting to finish Yellow from Pokemon, but school has been pushing me back. I’m slowly working on TOP, from the K-pop band BIGBANG, GD&TOP’s “Knock Out” MV where he’s wearing a varsity jacket with about 60-70 pins on both the front and back. I’m really hyped about that costume. I’ll be pulling a lot of crafty ideas into the costume. It is planned to debut at MetroCon 2012. Also, I have a Final Fantasy and a DC Comics cosplay in hand as well.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other photographers and who do you think does them well?
My eyes draw complete attention to a photo if the photographer is focusing on the detail of the costume, personality of the cosplayer’s character, or even the slightest, most beautiful editing in a photograph. A photographer can simply take a photo and I can look at it and tell if it has a sort of meaning, or a story, or a vocal point. That is what I love about photographers and their individual eye on the world. I pay attention to how much the photographer spends editing their work as well and I respect their duties as an artist. The photographers who inspire me with their flawless work are: Maboroshi, Ken AD, Morataya, LJinto, Darkain, Shiroang, SimpleBeauty, and Acksonl. 

Abra as Aria from Aria the Scarlet Ammo, photo by BellaVoce

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
Today, the cosplay scene is seen as an enormous popularity contest and extremely competitive. It used to be positive and filled with so much support and respect, but now it’s dying off. 

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
Photography is a hobby and it does not have to be taken seriously, unless you are a photography major. I would love to see everyone respect each other, help each other, and love each other. It is not about the popularity, it is about having fun with your friends and making memories last! Smile and enjoy yourselves. And be safe!

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into photography?
Photography can be a seen as hobby or a career. Use it as an “escape from reality” ordeal if you’re stressed or need “you” time. Use your time wisely and remember your education always comes first. Work on school before you go and out and play, because you don’t want to be stressed. Celebrities, millionaires, C.E.Os, etc. all started from square one. Photography has grown to be a huge hobby in my life, aside from cosplaying, and I have met some of the most inspirational friends, through both cosplaying and photographing, and they have been a huge support for critiques and ideas. Keep a positive attitude, keep your head held high, and enjoy life: live, laugh, love.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I haven’t ventured out of Florida just yet, but so far I love attending EXPcon and MegaCon. EXPcon is just an awesome con to have fun at and where you get to hang out with a lot of cool people. MegaCon has the largest dealer’s room in theFlorida convention realm and I enjoy being a total nerd when I browse through merchandise. Not only does the dealer’s room catch my eye, it’s also the best place to catch some of the best cosplay. Totally eye-catching, awe-inspiring and mesmerizing.

Kelley and Meg as Axel and Roxas from Kingdom Hearts 2, photo by BellaVoce

Thanks for the interview, BellaVoce! To check out her work and contact her for a shoot, you can check out her Deviantart!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

