Interview with Yuuki Cosplay

It’s time for another interview, this time with Yuuki Cosplay! She’s a talented cosplayer from Italy, who is quite lovely!

Yuuki Cosplay as Mistress 9 from Sailor Moon, photo by Mario Denti

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
It’s Yuuki Cosplay. I chose this name because it is inspired by my favorite character in Vampire Knight Yuuki, and also has always been one of my favorite names in Japanese! 

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I started doing cosplay about two years ago. I was initially apprehensive in trying but thanks to the encouragement of friends, they convinced me to become a cosplayer in the end!!

Yuuki Cosplay as Juliet from RomeoxJuliet, photo by Paolo NetFox Dicati

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I really like to fix wigs; it takes a lot of imagination and precision to look just like the character you choose! Another thing I really like are the small accessories. Unfortunately for the big ones, I still have a long way to go! : )

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
At the moment, I’m dedicating time to costumes like Vampire Princess Miyu, Enma Ai from Jigoku Shoujo, and Medusa from Petshop of Horrors. There will be many others, but I will keep them secret at least until I have completed them!

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
Everyone knows how to do a certain thing in cosplay, so I should take inspiration from all aspects to get better… I like to do a bit of it all, though I feel better at the make-up and sewing!

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
In Italy, cosplay over the years has evolved considerably. There is a very high level of cosplay and it shows not only the costumes but also from various performances done at the convention. Many Italian cosplayers are also known in the world; I feel proud of it!

Yuuki Cosplay as Shinku from Rozen Maiden, photo by Silvano Candeo

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
The thing I really like is that many consider cosplay just as a continuing competition where you have to always win. The conventions, in my opinion, are a meeting point where you can show and prove yourself and not to blame yourself if you don’t win. Cosplay is especially fun!

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Firstly cosplay is about fun. I always suggest starting from the simplest things and do not overdo it immediately with something complicated that is beyond your capabilities; with time you learn to do everything! Making friends in cosplay is important, because you can share your passions and get to know more. Cosplay is ongoing and you have to live the passion to always learn something new!

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
My favorite is the Mantova Comics because it was my very first convention. There, I find almost all my friends and acquaintances; there are some very interesting events, plenty of space, lots of nice cosplay! It’s been almost 4 years since went and I go there now annually as a fixed appointment!

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
Preparing to bring all seven sisters of purgatory; it was fun but very tiring as we had to find all the accessories like the boots and the same costume. The final result was excellent and in addition to the many compliments we received, we even won! XD

Yuuki Cosplay as Mammon from Umineko No Naku Koro Ni, photo by Fabrizio Panzacchi

Thanks for the interview, Yuuki Cosplay! You can see more of her work on her website, her Facebook page, and her Deviantart!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

