Interview with Katybear

It’s time for another interview, this time with Katybear! She’s a lovely cosplayer from New Mexico, who has a great collection of costumes!

Katybear out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
My cosplay alias is Katybear because I’ve had the nickname since I was a kid. My dad gave it to me. ^_^

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I have been cosplaying for over a year now. What got me started was my husband. I didn’t even know people cosplayed, and once I found out, I was so excited to do it! I was born on Halloween and love dressing up!

Katybear as Cammy from Street Fighter, photo by Rick

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I think a must to work with when costuming is Foamies and Mod Podge; you can make anything out of that combination! You can even use heat to mold the Foamies to your body.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I really want to try working with spandex, I would love to be able to make my own bodysuit instead of buying and tailoring them

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I really like seeing cosplays that you can tell took a lot of time and effort, and kudos to those that don’t have any outside help and make their own! I admire Yaya Han greatly, I know she makes all her own stuff.

Katybear as Black Canary from DC Comics, photo by Phoenix Rizing Photography

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I think the cosplay scene is looked down upon by some, but I see that everyone that is a part of it has a lot of fun.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I want it to become more accepted. I also wish people would stop hating on each other and just be nice. Who cares if they’re a little overweight, or if it’s a little risque! Do what you like!

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Don’t give up if you get frustrated, you’ll get better as time goes on! Learn how to sew, it’s a great skill to have and can save you lots of money!

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
My favorite convention was Saboten Con in Phoenix, although I haven’t had a chance to go to a really big one yet. I plan to go to Phoenix Comic Con this year and AX in California.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
Every costume I’ve worn has more than one piece that I have made. None of them are totally store bought, and some are things I’ve bought, then tailored to fit me. My Temari costume was totally handmade, even the shoes!

Katybear as Temari from Naruto, photo by Eurobeat King

Thanks for the interview, Katybear! You can see more of her work on her Facebook!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interview with Katybear

  1. Yay! Thanks for interviewing me!

Leave a Reply

