World Cosplay Summit

Since the U.S. preliminaries were this weekend, I was inspired to post about my opinion on the World Cosplay Summit.

First and foremost, if you don’t realize it’s not a true “contest”, then you’re just lying to yourself. If you decide to compete in it, do so for the fun aspects, not for the competition. By fun aspects, I mean the trip to Japan, the people you’ll meet, and what you’ll end up creating. I know when/if I ever compete, my plans are to just have fun with it.

You also need to realize, everyone will have different experiences. Some will be awesome, and some will be horrible. It’s good to take the experiences of others into mind, but remember that things are different for everyone.

Lastly, while it’s not a true competition, you are still being representatives for your community. Do your best work that you can, both in craftsmanship and performance. The girls chosen this year, Coconut Bubble Sex Cosplay, have gorgeous costumes and their performance in the preliminaries was very well done. Everyone that were in the preliminaries this year were amazing. It’ll be cool to see what’s created and done in the Summit itself.

Overall, do your best and have fun with it. The World Cosplay Summit should be seen as a neat travel experience to use your best skills and be a dork amidst dorks. Anything else is silly.

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

