Interview with Yumi Yangire

It’s time for another interview, this time with Yumi Yangire! She’s a talented cosplayer from Spain, who has a nice collection of costumes!

Yumi Yangire out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
My cosplay alias is Yumi, or Yumi Yangire. Yumi stands for a character I cosplayed long ago, called Yumi. It was one of my first cosplays, and friends were calling me this for fun. I got used to it, and now it’s my nickname.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I’ve been cosplaying for 3 years, approximately. I was quite the anime fan before that, and I always thought it would be fun dressing and acting like a character I like. So for my first convention, I pulled out an Amane Misa cosplay, quite poor, and I was actually surprised when people asked me for pictures. Then, with a friend’s help, I started to sew and she taught me everything about wigs and make-up.

Yumi Yangire as Kim Pine from Scott Pilgrim vs. The World, photo by Aifuuko

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
Sewing. I’m not good at props, and patterns are still quite the difficult thing for me, so I enjoy sitting in front of the sewing machine and make the fabric come out as a piece of cloth.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
Plugsuits. Mecha anime is one of my favorite anime genres, and there’s so many cool plugsuits! My next big project is Anemone’s plugsuit from Eureka Seven. I’m really excited about it.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
It’s all about accuracy. Fabric and construction. I don’t care if you planned a leather costume for July, or a revealing one for December. Cosplaying is about looking exactly like the character you’re cosplaying. I think Green Makakas and LoveSquad are the best examples here. I love everything about their costumes.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I live in Spain; we don’t have huge conventions and the contests made for encouraging people to cosplay are not giving us the best image. But I think we’re making real progress. There are some amazing people who do it great.

Yumi Yangire as Rena Ryuugu from Higurashi no Naku Koro ni, photo by Hinata

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I’d like more support from the “elders”, from the people who cosplay for 5 years or more. It feels like they want to be the best, and they wish no one could take their place. We don’t want to take their place, we want to cosplay together with them. This is a hobby, not a competition.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
First of all, ask. Ask someone who knows what to do. If that someone won’t answer, ask someone else. It’s really hard to do it by yourself, and most of us will joyfully help. Don’t let yourself being totally influenced, though. You should know what you like.

Second, don’t buy the cheapest thing you find. Better save some money and buy a kanekalon wig than a party wig. Better buy some poplin instead of satin. The quality depends a lot on the money you spend on it. And it’s not that expensive, it’s just not “poor mode”.

Third, have fun. Don’t mind the drama, you’re doing it because you like it, right?

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
My favorite one was definitely the XVII Salón del Manga de Barcelona. It was my first time, I was always attending Madrid cons, and I was impressed. Barcelona is bigger and I found more people who liked what I like.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
My Lacus Clyne Eternal cosplay was made in 3 days. I had almost no sleep, but the amount of effort it took, makes me really proud of it.

Yumi Yangire as Lacus Clyne from Gundam Seed, photo by NamiWalker

Thanks for the interview, Yumi Yangire! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

