Cosplaying Pet Peeves of Mine

I rarely will talk openly about cosplay pet peeves, but I think it’s time to share two of them that I have. They’ve become more noticeable in the scene and I feel something needs to be said.

1. WEAR MAKE-UP

You may be the prettiest girl or the most handsome boy, but when a camera flash goes off, if you’re not wearing any make-up, you will look horrible. Prime example? Me. I have a very red face, especially over my cheeks, due to old chemical burns. When I first started cosplaying, I never wore make-up.

Yunie as Sephiroth from Final Fantasy VII, sans make-up, photo by Lionel Lum

Not the most flattering image, and it’s not because of the photographer, but because my face is discolored due to lack of make-up. Once I figured out how bad I looked sans make-up, I started wearing it.

Yunie as Sephiroth from Final Fantasy VII, with make-up, photo by Consplayers.com

BIG CHANGE. My face is a normal color, my eyes are darkened and more noticeable, and I look more like a villain. Make-up, when done correctly, can make you look more manly, more feminine, sweet, and/or seductive. EXPERIMENT with it. HAVE FUN with it. But for the love of the cosplay gods, WEAR IT.

2. LINGERIE IS NOT COSPLAY

I see some absolutely beautiful girls lashing out for more photos and attention by wearing underwear and calling it a costume. No, I’m sorry, it’s still underwear. No one’s impressed by you prancing around in a glitzy bra and some panties because you’re an awesome costumer, they’re impressed at your wanton display of your “assets”. Put some clothes on and let the rest of us who do wear actual costumes, skimpy or not, not be judged because you feel that’s the only way you can get the attention you want. If I see one more quarter-naked Femme!Trooper or Poison Ivy, I will flippin’ make a costume for you just so you’re not giving the rest of us gals a bad name.

Use some discretion. If the character wouldn’t wear it without being paid to do so, neither should you.

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cosplaying Pet Peeves of Mine

  1. Reblogged this on Starnigh Industries and commented:
    This article really resonates with me. From our friend at Cosplay Blog…with a Brain!

  2. Rarity-This says:

    THaNKYOU for saying that.. i been saying that undies are not cosplay for years and i get told to shut up i must be jealous…. but really its just a case of its not actually cosplay unless the art reference or such is doing it too. then worse is when those cosplayers then cry out about people being creepy or lecherous to them…

Leave a Reply

