Interview with Adelhaid

It’s time for another interview, this time with Adelhaid! She’s a talented cosplayer from Russia, who has a lot of beautiful costumes!

Adelhaid in lolita, photo by JustMoolti

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
My real name is Maria and my alias is Adelhaid (Ada). It is my nickname from the time when I was more interested in LARP, not cosplay. It is just nice.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
About 5 years. My friends asked me to help them. One cosplayer from their group could not participate in the festival and I took his place for one time. I had a good time.

Adelhaid as Lilith from Trinity Blood, photo by Askar Ibragimov

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
It is hard to choose. I like making costume jewelry and also I like to work with wings. Especially with feather wings, as they are so soft. Also, I like to use some modern technology for making costumes. I created the fabric design for some of my costumes and then printed it at workshop. It is great if you can paint the dress, but making your own fabric is incredible.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I am going to work with plexiglass and some other transparent materials. I’ve never done it before, so it is very interesting. I think I’ll go to my country cottage for it as working with plexiglass at home may be uncomfortable, and I don’t want to trouble my family.

Adelhaid as Succubus from Castlevania: Lament of Innocence, photo by JustMoolti

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I like accuracy in details and well made proportions. One of my favorite cosplayers and costume makers in Russia is Play. I also like R&R and some works of Imperia team. As for cosplayers from other countries, I am always interested in costumes by Yaya, Astellecia, and many other people. Also, I am amazed by Azmal’s leather works (most of his works are not for cosplay).

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I don’t think much about it.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
It is important to make good costumes, but it is more important to make friends with other people and to have some fun.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
For many years my favorite one was Animatrix in Moscow. But last year’s, there were some troubles with organization. I think Cha-no-yu (Moscow) and Animatsuri (St. Petersburg) are the best Russian festivals today. Cosplayers from all over Russia can meet there. My country is huge, I see some of my friends only at big conventions as they live far from me.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I worked at the NHK World TV stand in my Myobi’s dress on CSTB 2012 in Moscow.

Adelhaid as Myobi from Alichino, photo by Taisia Flyagina

Thanks for the interview, Adelhaid! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

