Interview with Niko/OoNekoEdoO

It’s time for another interview, this time with Niko/OoNekoEdoO! She’s a lovely cosplayer from Denmark, who is quite talented!

Niko/OoNekoEdoO out of costume, photo by Silas Staal

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
Neko and Ed were my nicknames at the time when I started to cosplay (Ed, since I cosplayed Edward Elric and Neko, since it was close to Niko). I really had no idea of what to call my account so it ended up being oONekoEdOo. Now, most people know me as Niko. ^^

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I’ve been cosplaying for.. 2 years by now? Yeah.. A friend of mine heard of a convention in Denmark in November 2009 and I bought my first (crappy) cosplay in the beginning of 2010.

Niko/OoNekoEdoO as Edward from Fullmetal Alchemist, photo by Silas Staal

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
Choosing fabric.. Ever since I started in tailoring education this January, I’ve been OBSESSED with choosing the right fabric! I love to pretty much run through fabric store after fabric store in order to find the PERFECT material!

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
My Blood Elf cosplay, which I will be doing for February 2013. There are SO many details that I really sometimes reconsider if I really want to.. But at the same time, I love the WoW universe and characters, so I kinda just HAVE to!

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
Accuracy. I know I’m not good at being perfect, but I love to look at cosplayers who look EXACTLY like the characters! And when people use the right material and not just some cheap fabric. Cheap fabric can make me sad. I ADORE PikminLink and Akuriko as Link and Zelda! They are like.. PERFECT! I can’t find a single mistake with the cosplays at all!

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I think too many people consider themselves being cosplayers, even though all they have is like an akatsuki robe and cat ears.. I know even I was at that point once, but I really first considered myself as being a cosplayer WAY later after I had like 3-4 different cosplays. But I also think many ‘pro cosplayers’ don’t ‘accept’ cosplayers who buy their cosplays. I think it’s perfectly acceptable to buy cosplays, especially if you spend days finding JUST the right one. ^^ And because not everyone can sew.

Niko/OoNekoEdoO as Hermione from Harry Potter, photo by Silas Staal

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
First off, making weaboos realize that every cosplayer is NOT their best friend and some people are really not comfortable hugging strangers! And then have some of those cosplayers who consider themselves better than everyone knocked some sense into their head so they can see that you don’t need to sew your own cosplays in order to be good.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Have fun with it! Make the cosplays YOU wanna do, and don’t let others decide for you. It’s an awful lot of money you’re using at cosplays, so be sure that it’s THAT cosplay you wanna make.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Uhm.. I’ve only been to conventions in Denmark, but my favorite here is Genki-con, ^^ but we only have three conventions.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
One sleeve in my Noki cosplay required more fabric than the dress itself!

Niko/OoNekoEdoO as Italy from Hetalia, photo by Silas Staal

Thanks for the interview, Niko/OoNekoEdoO! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

