Press Passes and Why I Don’t Use Them

I’ve yet to get a press pass for the blog, and it’s not because I don’t qualify. I went to cons without press passes before, and it seems like they cater more to get good reviews if you are press. I want the nitty-gritty. I want the real deal.

I do not want a facade.

If conventions have nothing to hide, I will figure it out. Press doesn’t necessarily get to interact the same way with staff and events that must attendees do. Yes, they get some bonuses with interactions with guests, nice seating for events, and other such things, but it’s different from the normal experience. It’s different to watch and review the masquerade from the audience versus participating in it. It’s different sitting in an event than hosting one. It’s all different interactions with the convention environment itself. I’d rather experience the con rather than be there to review it.

That’s just a bonus for me. ; P

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Press Passes and Why I Don’t Use Them

  1. I think this is a good way of looking at it. After all, a lot of your readers are pretty normal cosplayers–we want your account of a con as if we were going to it.

Leave a Reply

