Interview with KuroKaren

It’s time for another interview, this time with KuroKaren! She’s a talented cosplayer from Portugal, who enjoys making all the accessories!

KuroKaren out of costume, photo by Kikkai

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
My real name is Rita, but my cosplay alias is KuroKaren. Kuro (black in Japanese) is because I used to be in a group of three entitled “KurOtakus” with my sister and a friend because we wore a lot of black. In that group, each had a nickname starting with “K” and mine was Karen, meaning cute/sweet in Japanese.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I started cosplaying 4 years ago. It was also when I started going to anime events and I really liked the idea of dressing up and impersonating your favorite character. It’s also really fun to walk around in costumes and meeting new people with the same interests.

KuroKaren as Charlotte from Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica, photo by Kikkai

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
My favorite thing to do is the accessories, mostly because I really like sculpting and painting. Also, my sister is better at sewing so I stick with what I’m best at.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
Me and my sister will be cosplaying Chii and Freya from Chobits, which I’m really excited about because I’ve always been a big fan of Clamp; all the dresses and character designs are really interesting and fascinating to me. I’m really looking forward to make their crowns and ears.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I like the attention some cosplayers have in some details, per example adding pearls or jewelry.

KuroKaren as Rin from Vocaloid, photo by Kikkai

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I think there’s too much drama; I notice it a lot in my country which is Portugal.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I think people should spend more time having fun and doing their best rather than criticizing others.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Don’t worry if your costume is not perfect, you’ll get better with time. Also don’t leave everything for the last minute like I always do.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Anipop and Iberanime. They are the main conventions in the central area of my country.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
My Marisa hat is 50cm wide and can have tip up or down. It was a struggle making it but it paid off.

KuroKaren as Marisa from Touhou Project, photo by Kikkai

Thanks for the interview, KuroKaren! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart, her World Cosplay account, and her Facebook fanpage!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

