Interview with Sara

It’s time for another interview, this time with Sara! She’s an amazing cosplayer from Taiwan, who has quite the array of costumes!

Sara out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
My name is Sara and it’s my real English name. By the way, “SARA” in Japanese means “shala tree”, a kind of flower. I love the meaning of it.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I have been cosplaying more then 10 years. I was a young student and I knew some friends who love “Rurouni Kenshin”. We decided to make cosplays of “Rurouni Kenshin” together to join a comic event. It’s a very happy memory to me.

Sara as Kenshin from Rurouni Kenshin, photo by Samsara

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I love spandex fabrics. It’s very useful making props or something. It’s hard to sew but I still love it. And I love foam, too. I use it to make many props, like armors, elf ears, etc. It’s a kind of material that’s very useful.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I want to make more armor from “Saint Seiya”, especially the armor of Hades. It’s my favorite anime in my life, so I have to think about how to use foam or PVC better to make the armor. It’s very fun making it.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
The construction? I want to see the image of the character be presented well by cosplay.
There are many cosplayers who do it very well. They always make me think “Wow, He/She is real in the world!”

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I love cosplay because it make me happy. It’s fun to be a character from another world, it’s fun to see the character you love come true in the real world. It’s very fun making costumes and props. Cosplay is a fun hobby; I think it’s a very pure desire to do it.

Sara as Deedlit from Record of Lodoss War, photo by Rosslo

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I hope that everyone has fun when they are cosplaying. And, I hope that there will be more and more cosplayers that “make” their cosplay by themselves. It’s so fun making costumes… I want to see more idea from other cosplayers! There are too many “Garments” here now; everyone wears the same thing and I can’t see any idea in it. It’s not bad to cosplay with “Garments”; it does make cosplay easy, but I still want to see more fun in “making” instead.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Have fun!! Just do it! Make something simple and don’t be afraid to fail. Put your work on, and be proud of it.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I’ve only attended “Comic world in Taiwan” here; it has been held many years in Taiwan. There are many cosplayers and artists and you can buy many kinds of fan art and take photos of cosplayers. It was my first time cosplaying (“Rurouni Kenshin”) with friends many years ago when we attended the “Comic world in Taiwan”.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I’m so proud of being a Gold Saint from Saint Seiya. It’s my childhood dream. It was hard for me to make the armor at first, and I finally made it. I made 9 total armors of Gold Saints. I was in tears by the time 9 gold saints took photos together. So happy to make my dream come true!

Sara as Pisces Albafica from Saint Seiya, photo by Chihane

Thanks for the interview, Sara! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart and her website!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interview with Sara

  1. Etaru says:

    Her Kenshin is AMAZING, this girl just glows with talent!

Leave a Reply

