Interview with Ichigokitty

It’s time for another interview, this time with Ichigokitty! She’s a lovely cosplayer from Florida, who is quite talented in all aspects of costuming!

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
My cosplay alias is Ichigokitty, and I chose it because I really love strawberries and cats. I picked this alias when I was really excited about Tokyo Mew Mew, but I’ve always loved both of those things so it works! Sometimes I wish I chose something cooler. XD

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I started cosplaying in 2002, so I’m going on 10 years (yikes lol)! I’ve always had the want to dress up and play as my favorite characters, even before I knew what cosplay was. I remember planning out how to make a Sailor Moon costume when I was 11, and I would always try to wear little trinkets that were like what my favorite characters wore (Misato’s necklace)!

Ichigokitty as Super Sailor Moon from Sailor Moon, photo by Darkain Multimedia

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I love a good suiting fabric, sateens, and matte satins. I also really like cotton lycras. For little accessories, I like Super Sculpey and for gems I use Castin Craft clear casting epoxy. I also like using liquid plastic by smooth on for accessories that need to be a little lighter. Foamie is always a must for different structural feats or little costume pieces! I sometimes use it as interfacing, it has so many different amazing uses! Last but not least, Heat n bond has so many uses in making different design aspects of costumes.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I’m excited to get more experience with armor, painting and different types of fabric layering. Momohime is my next planned costume, and it requires armor-making, painting, dying, and a twist on traditional kimono. I learn something new from every costume I make, so really every costume brings a new kind of experience. I would like to use more lights in the future as well. Stepping up my costumes a notch is always really exciting to me!

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
One of the cool things about the cosplay community is that there are so many different talented individuals that excel in different areas. I LOVE seeing clean sewing, and one of the biggest aspects that makes or breaks a great costume for me is proportion. However, proportion is the hardest aspect of a costume to get right!

Ichigokitty as Midna from Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess, photo by Consplayers.com

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
It needs help in several different areas. The insecurity of people sometimes takes over and it honestly seems to multiply when you put two insecure people together. The jealously, the competitiveness, the need to constantly compare yourself to others are all troublesome factors. It causes people to attempt to seek out anything negative they can find about others they perceive as a threat and they end up saying not so nice things, whether it’s true or not. This breeds rumors and the like. The idea of “cosplay fame” is probably mostly behind these problems lol.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I’d like for people to stop trying to find the worst aspect in each other, and I’d like for people to stop spreading rumors and negativity… though, I don’t really think ANY hobby would be without that, it’s just human nature. I think it’d be great if the focus of cosplay returned to MAKING costumes, having fun, showing your love for your favorite shows, and not about fame. Too many times so many cosplayers I know have been asked where they “got” their costumes, because a lot of the newer members of the community just want to buy something and can’t sew or don’t wish to make something. It’s troublesome to always have people assuming you bought your costume instead of assuming you worked your butt off on it!

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Do it for fun! Don’t get into cosplay thinking you’ll be like the hottest prom queen cosplayer and you’ll be the most famous~ Try your best to learn how to sew and craft on your own, instead of buying your costumes off of the internet because the end result will be more worth it! Try to cosplay with your friends, and take it easy! Try your best to stay humble and honest. If you think someone else’s costume looks awesome- tell them! Don’t snuff them because it’s intimidating.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I love Katsucon because of the lovely lighting, countless photoshoot locations, and beautiful venue. I’m usually caught up with cosplaying a lot, so I don’t attend too many events. In the past, I’ve had a lot of fun at CA cons like AX because of the events, size, and quality of costumes. Basically, I love going to conventions that leave me feeling extremely motivated and inspired! Being around all the coolest people I know is pretty much also the best thing ever!

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I make it a point to line any and all Luffy costumes I make with pirate treasure map fabric!

Ichigokitty as Hibiki from iDOLM@STER, photo by GQBravo

Thanks for the interview, Ichigokitty! You can see more of her work on her website, on her Cure account, on her Deviantart, on her Cosplay.com account, and her Facebook!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Interview with Ichigokitty

  1. Treasure map fabric- th.. .that’s brilliant!

  2. Gamer Box says:

    Wow, I love her Sailor Moon costume! I agree that people should start making their costume more. Most of my favorite Cosplayers make their own, and it’s a lot more interesting.

  3. Makyz says:

    Where do you buy your costumes?

Leave a Reply

