Interview with Akinofujiko

It’s time for another interview, this time with Akinofujiko! She’s a talented cosplayer from Australia, who is quite lovely!

Akinofujiko as Shizuku from HunterXHunter, photo by Darren

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
My cosplay alias is Akinofujiko. It’s actually an alias I’ve been using on the internet for quite a long time so it naturally became my cosplay alias too. Although most people I meet through cosplay end up calling me by my real name. I’ve been told it’s a really weird Japanese name but I’ve been using it for so long now it’s hard not to feel attached to it.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I’ve been cosplaying since 2008. Ever since I found out about cosplay, I’d always been interested in it, but having no experience in sewing or prop making scared me. I was very lucky in a way to become friends with people who were also interested in starting cosplay and because of this, I was able to find my way into cosplaying.

Akinofujiko as Rin from Vocaloid, photo by Lisa

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
For me, I’m more interested in the ‘Play’ part in ‘cosplay’. I do make my own costumes at times, however that generally isn’t my favorite part of the process. I love the process of doing photoshoots and trying to make the character and their world come to life with the help of a good location and props.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
In the past, as you can probably see from all my cosplays, I’ve always been cosplaying cute characters. Or as my friends like to joke about, the useless character of the series. This year however, I’ve got plans to try different characters that have more personality and generally try to stick out of my comfort zone a little more. I’m really excited about that!

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I love seeing cosplays that are done with a lot of detail and just in general be as accurate to the original as possible. It’s also really amazing when you see a cosplayer who can be completely in character when they want to be.

Akinofujiko as Yukimura Chizuru from Hakuouki, photo by An Chau

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
As I’m from Melbourne, Australia, the cosplay scene is quite a small scene. I guess it’s really nice in that way because everyone knows each other (or at least we do meet a large majority of the cosplayers) and it can make events a very fun and friendly place to be.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
It would be nice to see a further increase in cosplayers. More variety is always great and just to see it become more of a norm.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
The best advice I can give would be to just give it a go. Don’t be too afraid of making mistakes but do read up on things such as con etiquette, how to choose good wigs and never be afraid to get advice about costumes and how to make them. I find once you start, it becomes much easier to improve but if you never start (no matter how bad it is), you’ll never get to cosplay.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
My favorite con would be Supanova in Melbourne. There really aren’t that many cons in Melbourne and I’ve never been to any interstate or overseas. Supanova is probably the most well organized con in Melbourne and features lots of really amazing guests. The cosplay competition is run smoothly as well. So just overall, it caters to the attendees and cosplayers much more than the other cons I’ve been to.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
My CCS Sakura costume was the first costume that I ever made everything for. Minus the black leggings and black long sleeve top, I made the staff, the gloves, the hat, the boot covers, the jacket and the skirt from scratch (with a little help from mum). And that skirt is something I’m really proud of because the pleats are insanely small but we got it to work! It was a childhood dream come true too!

Akinofujiko as Sakura from Cardcaptor Sakura, photo by Mark Sombillo

Thanks for the interview, Akinofujiko! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

