Interview with Caya

It’s time for another interview, this time with Caya! She’s a relatively new cosplayer from Chile, who is quite talented!

Caya as Bugsy/Tsukushi from Pokemon, photo by Angeline-Steelix

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
It’s Caya. It’s been my nickname since childhood, so I just stick with it.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I’ve been cosplaying since 2009, but I have taken it more seriously since 2010. A friend of mine wanted to cosplay and when she talked with me about that, her emotions about cosplay made me try it too.

Caya as Switzerland from Hetalia, photo by Vale ID

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
More than sewing, I actually enjoy making props, especially with materials like wood, plastics, foams and the like. The kind of material you have to measure, cut, sand, glue, paint, “transform” into the shape you want rather than “form” the shape, as with resins and plaster.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
Different kinds of PVC, especially the foam-like one whose name in English I don’t know. Fiberglass and LED lights too, I love circuits!

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I like when cosplayers achieve a balance on costume, props, personification and photography quality. It can sound a bit demanding, but it shows that the cosplayer actually tries his or her best. And I’m not against a cosplayer asking for help or paying for their cosplays, as long as they do the personification the character properly. There are lots of cosplayers who do an excellent work on achieving that balance, so picking only one isn’t fair.

Caya as Red from Pokemon, photo by Cristian Duran

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
There’s not much of a “cosplay scene” here where I live, but worldwide it’s getting better and better. Lots of people from the entire world are doing fabulous work: cosplay is no more an Asian hobby but a worldwide one, even in little cities like the one I live in.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
Well… I’m not much in the scene as I said before so I really don’t know… I suppose it’s about the photos people upload to internet. They need to be more careful when picking them, because everybody can see them.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
To choose a character they WANT and can represent both in personality and looks, with emphasis in “want”.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
More than conventions, I enjoy photoshoots. Conventions here are more about anime and Korean music, there aren’t cosplay conventions.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I can’t think of any right now! Hahaha, sorry!

Caya as Daria from Rune Factory, photo by Angeline-Steelix

Thanks for the interview, Caya! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

