Interview with Thebakasaru/Vic Kumiko

It’s time for another interview, this time with Thebakasaru/Vic Kumiko! She’s a lovely cosplayer from Singapore, who has quite the costume collection!

Thebakasaru/Vic Kumiko as Sakura from Cardcaptor Sakura, photo by Nicholas Vax

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
Thebakasaru on deviantart or Vic Kumiko on other social networks! 😄 Thebakasaru came about only because bakasaru was taken on hotmail. 😀 I am very crazy over Goku from Saiyuki and his relationship with Sanzo, and bakasaru is the nickname that Sanzo gave Goku, so yea, thebakasaru! 😄 For Vic Kumiko, Vic is my nickname, while for Kumiko, I really like how it is written in Kanji, and have also used it as an alias when I was working in a maid cafe.

Thebakasaru/Vic Kumiko as SeeU from Vocaloid, photo by Nik Yan

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I first cosplayed at the end of 2005, took a break the following year, and got really active over the past 3 years. I have had a crazy obsession with Kikumaru Eiji from Prince Of Tennis and wanted his Seigaku uniform, did a search on Taobao, got it, and was persuaded by a friend to also cosplay it.

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I love ruffles and sparkly things. While I am not really a girly person, I find ruffles adorable and will be really happy to make them because they are so fluffy. I like to try to make different things so often it is the ‘alien-ness’ of a costume that will excite me, or the different materials used.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
There are so many things on my ‘to-do-list’ that I am excited to start on but first off, it will be to complete all the costumes I am planning to do from Macross Frontier and Guilty Crown. After that, I will be moving on to Mawaru Penguindrum and also CLAMP, Ai Yazawa and Final Fantasy Series. I am really excited for the last 3 because of the variety of costumes and characters there are to work on and also, it is knowing how exquisite and grand the details of the costumes are.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
Definately accuracy and correct, yet realistic, details. I really look up to people who are able to make costumes accurately and yet, make a costume look grand. That said, Kanasaiii and Lennethxvii are people whom I really respect and admire, for I have learnt so much about costumes, make up and cosplay in general from them.

Thebakasaru/Vic Kumiko as Madoka from Puella Magi Madoka Magica, photo by Nik Yan

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
It is a place where people use different ways to do different things but for the same hobby. 😀

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I personally feel that it would be good if people stop most of their drama-mama-for-nothing. I mean, why can’t everyone just work together happily for their hobby? Of course it is not in my position to stop anyone from doing what they like, but such acts makes the scene less enjoyable for sure.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Just keep trying even if you didn’t get it right the first time. As long as you try, you can learn. And cosplay because you love a character. 😀

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I think most conventions have their own ‘selling point’ but conventions are made fun because of friends who are there!

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I always try to make them as pretty as possible without losing its accuracy? 😀

Thebakasaru/Vic Kumiko as Sheryl from Macross Frontier, photo by Nik Yan

Thanks for the interview, Thebakasaru/Vic Kumiko! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart and her Facebook!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interview with Thebakasaru/Vic Kumiko

  1. Indra says:

    Excellent interview. Definitely will be following her ^^

Leave a Reply

