Photographer Interview with Yuu Gray

Yuu Gray is a rising photographer from Russia, who has a great eye for capturing absolutely stunning images!

Yuu Gray as Nunnaly from Code Geass, photo by Yui Lang

How many years have you been into photography and what got you into cosplay photography?
In August, it will be 2 years that I have been doing photos. I liked the pictures of unusual images. Thanks to photo shoots, I met many people.

Ichimancu Keiko as Chii from Chobits, photo by Yuu Gray

What regions do you usually cover, and do you charge for photoshoots? Also, how does one get in contact to shoot with you?
Cost of the photo shoot depends at first from the outfit, then how much the model can do for it (find the place, additional requisites, give some ideas for photos). Usually people write me on vk.com or asking me about photo shoots at the festivals.

What type of photoshoots do you prefer and why?
I am accustomed to cosplay shooting and do not see myself in other areas, but I also like the “wedding photography”. I finally wanted to try my hand at reportage and portraits of ordinary people.

What is some of your favorite equipment you work with and why?
I’m a cosplayer too, so all my savings are spent on costumes and wigs, but not long ago I started to acquire new equipment. I want to say thanks to Yui Lang, because she often gives me the equipment for night shooting. Now I use the lens CANON EF – S 18-55 mm, the video light CN – 76 and the flash yongnuo speedlite yn-560.

Arthy as Megumi from Shiki, photo by Yuu Gray

What are some of the traits you like to see in other photographers and who do you think does them well?
I really like the motion pictures and ones with special effects. I also enjoy portrait photography.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I like it. Doing it myself. 😀

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
Nothing. Everything is fine.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into photography?
I still consider myself a beginner. 😀 The main thing I think is “Never rely on a technique; even with the minimum you can make masterpieces.” I want for beginning photographers to not copy anyone; individuality is great.

Casper as Miku from Vocaloid, photo by Yuu Gray

Thanks for the interview, Yuu Gray! To check out his work and contact him for a shoot, you can check out his Devaintart!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

