Interview with Raey

It’s time for another interview, this time with Raey! She’s a talented cosplayer from California, who has quite the growing collection of costumes!

Raey out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
My cosplay alias is Raey after my Deviantart username. I chose it because it is year spelled backwards and I wasn’t very creative at the time.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I have been cosplaying for about 3 years on and off. My friends at the time decided that they wanted to form a cosplay group and, voila, VemeaCosplay was created.

Raey as Renea from Shadow Hunters

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I have actually only recently began making my own cosplays and, so far, it has been the money I have saved from buying used clothes and constructing cosplays out of them.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
So far the only cosplay I have figured out for the future is Numbah 4 from KND.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
The details!!! I think if someone is able to do a cosplay and even get the details down perfectly then I’m sold!!!

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I think it is a very dramatic scene, where people tend to be over-the-top and sadly not always in a good way.

Raey as Yuffie from Kingdom Hearts, photo by Kagutsuchi-RyuXIII

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I would like to see more people acting respectful towards each other. Since we all enjoy and love cosplaying, I think we need to understand that it can’t always be about one person.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Know the character you are cosplaying, know the anime/manga, and work the cosplay so that it fits your body type.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
FANIME ALL THE WAY!! I always have fun hanging with friends and getting away from responsibilities.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
For Frankie from Foster’s Home of Imaginary Friends it took me probably 6 hours to find out the design on Frankie’s shirt and the actual scale of it.

Raey as Frankie from Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends

Thanks for the interview, Raey! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

