Interview with Iris Elvirus

It’s time for another interview, this time with Iris Elvirus! She’s a lovely cosplayer from California, who is quite the talented lady!

Iris Elvirus out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
I do not have an alias. I go by my name or the person/thing I am cosplaying as.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I have been cosplaying for 9 years. My mom bought me my first lolita dress when I was 13. I have always loved dressing up as my favorite characters. That was also the year I went to my first convention, though I forgot what one it was.

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I love using cotton for my cosplays. If you’ve ever been to a convention, you know how hot they get.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I am excited to work on all my cosplays, but I can’t wait until I can finally cosplay as Catwoman. She has always been my favorite.

Iris Elvirus as Jessika from Shadow Hunters, photo by J Mc

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
To me, it doesn’t matter how much work you put into it as long as the person wearing the cosplay has a good attitude. Don’t go to a convention if you’re going to be a grouch. People go there to have fun.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
Cosplayers are what I consider a great big family. Once you find the right people, you’ll have fun. Cosplaying is a lifestyle. Some people spend months, or even years, working on a cosplay. In short, cosplaying shows dedication and it’s tons of fun.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
Nothing; I love the way it is now. A large group of people can get together and show such passion for what they love.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
No matter how hard you work on your cosplay, people will always compliment you. Don’t get upset if you think someone else’s is better than yours; that’s life and you should be proud of them. Show respect for your fellow cosplayers.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Wondercon was great. I got to sit in on a Kevin Smith panel, but Sacramento conventions will always be my favorite.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I am most proud of my Jessika from Shadow Hunters cosplay. I put blood, sweat, and tears into that cosplay.

Iris Elvirus as Jessika from Shadow Hunters, photo by J Mc

Thanks for the interview, Iris Elvirus! You can see more of her work on her Tumblr!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interview with Iris Elvirus

  1. Yunie, I really need to chat with you about this blog post. My name is ALSO iris scott (same name as the girl written about in the article interview.) I have an offer for you. Would love it if you get back with me.

Leave a Reply

