Idolization for the Wrong Reasons

There is a lot of idolization in the cosplay scene, and not always for the best of reasons. I’m a firm believer that people should be recognized for their skills, not their looks. Prime example for this? Yaya Han.

I’ve been watching information and images come out from Dragon*Con this past weekend, and while Yaya is a very lovely woman, I’m always looking at her costumes. Her Granado Espada piece is astounding with the detail work, I’ve always loved the peacock outfit she put together, and her Wonder Woman she created is just awesome with its fit and detailing as well. Unfortunately, many people see only her looks, which is disheartening because her talent should be the focus.

There are others that get looked over as well because of the fact they aren’t insanely good-looking. They’re just as, if not more, talented as some of the idolized cosplayers, but because they don’t have “the whole package”, they get ignored. It’s sad to see this happen, but it does a lot.

So, these skewed views need to get re-evaluated. Look at the talent, not the attractiveness or body of the cosplayer. Idolize for the talent, not for the looks.

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Idolization for the Wrong Reasons

  1. Dea Thea says:

    I agree with this 110%! When I look for a cosplayer to shoot for my book I look at the outfit not the person, detail and uniqueness is what inspires me to shoot.

Leave a Reply

