Interview with Yurai

It’s time for another interview, this time with Yurai! She’s a lovely cosplayer from Spain, who is quite talented!

Yurai out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
Yurai. It’s my nickname and I use it for everything (I hate my name so everybody calls me Yurai or “Yu”).

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
Since 2002, so ten years. I did my first “cosplay” for the first manga/anime convention that I went to. It was Marin of Saint Seiya. I had done costumes of Misty from Pokemon and Sakura from Card Captor Sakura for costume festivals in my city (without knowing that it was cosplay).

Yurai as Shiva from Final Fantasy X, photo by Hidrico

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
My favorite part of work on the costumes are the small details (sewing cord, rhinestones, ribbons…) it’s a hard part but I really love the final result. I love making props and weapons, casting gems, styling wigs, and transforming shoes.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
At this moment, I am working on Midna and Link (Magic Armor) from Zelda: Twilight Princess for the Spanish WCS Qualifier. I hope I can finish all in time for the contest. These costumes and the performance that we plan to do are very special for me.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
For me, it is very important to wear good make up and styled wig to look like the character. I especially love the make up and wig for Ryoko-Demon. Another thing that I love is the people that can take amazing photos in awesome places for their costumes; a lot of Russian people have luck with this! And of course, I admire the amazing work of Kamui and her husband, Benni, in their armors and props.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
For me, it is a type of art that implies trying to do a lot of different aspects (sewing, doing handcraft, molding, painting, styling, acting, modeling…) and it’s a good form to meet new people from other cities and other countries.

Yurai from Garnet from Final Fantasy IX, photo by Nairda

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I would like for society to see cosplay as something more normal and don’t criticize us because we are “weird people” or think that we are stupid for making or wearing manga/anime costumes. We are normal people that study and work like anybody, only it’s a hobby; we don’t hurt anyone!

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Choose the characters that you like, try to do it yourself and ask when you need help, take all the time that you need (don’t try to do it too fast!), start with the easiest parts, be patient, and don’t yield when something doesn’t work at the first try. Enjoy it and take a lot of photos!

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
For the moment, my favorite conventions are “Japan Expo” (Paris) because it is soooooooooo big, and the stage is really amazing. And the “Salon del Manga” (Barcelona) because it is the more important convention in Spain, is the oldest that exists in Spain. It started 18 years ago (I have gone 10 years). I am waiting for the next month to visit the MCM Expo in London, I am so excited!

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
For this time, I am only “proud” of being the Spanish Solo representative on the European Cosplay Gathering 2012. And I am very happy because I am going to compete in the EuroCosplay Final, but I am not really proud about it because I won the second place (two times) but not the first, so I will go because I am the replacement. I would like to win first place by myself.

Yurai as Kitana from Mortal Kombat 9, photo by Hidrico

Thanks for the interview, Yurai! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart and her Cosplay.com account!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

