Photographer Interview with Hidrico

Hidrico is an up and coming photographer from Spain, who has quite a talent for not only capturing photos, but manipulating them!

Hidrico, photo by Alba Herrera

How many years have you been into photography and what got you into cosplay photography?
This year will make 3 years since I started studying photography. I’m cosplayer too, before I started photography, so I already knew many people of the scene. Also, cosplay is perfect for photomanipulations, digital editions and photo-illustration looks, being that is my favorite thing to do and what I want to specialize in, it was the most obvious way to start.

HikariKat as Babydoll from Sucker Punch, photo by Hidrico

What regions do you usually cover, and do you charge for photoshoots? Also, how does one get in contact to shoot with you?
Right now I can only cover Barcelona (Spain) and its surroundings. I could go to other cities if the travel costs are expensed. I’ve recently started charging for photoshoots, but for personal works or collaborations with models that could add value to my portfolio, I don’t. You can get in contact with me through private messaging on my Facebook page or Deviantart.

What type of photoshoots do you prefer and why?
I prefer photoshoots that are related to fantasy and sci-fi themes because they allow me more freedom and possibilities to play with, both in the capture moment and also in postproduction.

What is some of your favorite equipment you work with and why?
I don’t have much equipment yet, since I’m starting and I don’t have much budget. Very recently, I’ve acquired a Starblitz Flash Studio kit. I’m more comfy doing interior shoots, with full light control and a background that can be more easily removed. Of course, my main equipment is my camera, Canon EOS60D.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
Well, I have some projects planned right now that I’m eager to do, especially a cyberpunk themed shoot with an amazing model and designer. It’s something that I wanted to do since long time.

Erik as Sith Pureblood from Star Wars: The Old Republic, photo by Hidrico

What are some of the traits you like to see in other photographers and who do you think does them well?
I like to see photographers that are equally good in photography, retouch, and photomanipulation, combining perfect features from other arts in one. I think photographers like Michelle Monique, Marco Ribbe, Urban Dancer or Rebeca Saray are good examples of that. I love their work.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I think there is too much competitiveness and hatred between cosplayers, which I don’t understand since this is supposed to be only a hobby.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I would love that, like in other countries, the concept of forming teams and groups to make props and costumes, each person with his role and specialization, with a more professional point of view would arise. More focus in photoshoots and products and not just in contests and events. But maybe the word “cosplay” won’t fit in this anymore. :p

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into photography?
I don’t know if I’m the most appropriate to give advice, since technically I’m novice yet. But I can say that, when you start, the equipment costs and technique needed can be frightening, but your artistic vision will be above all the most important thing you have. So if you think you have it, don’t hesitate and go ahead.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
There aren’t many conventions here in Barcelona. I basically attend the main three ones that exist, Salón del Manga, Salón del Cómic and Japan Weekend.

Shanoa as Tali from Mass Effect, photo by Hidrico

Thanks for the interview, Hidrico! To check out his work and contact him for a shoot, you can check out his Devaintart, his Facebook page, and his ModelMayhem page!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

