Interview with Axel/Shadowlightninja

It’s time for another interview, this time with Axel/Shadowlightninja! She’s a newer cosplayer from Tennessee, who is showing some serious talent when it comes to wigs!

Axel/Shadowlightninja as Kairi from Kingdom Hearts, photo by Firebird Photography

Axel/Shadowlightninja as Kairi from Kingdom Hearts, photo by Firebird Photography

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
I mostly just go by Axel. That’s because that’s the cosplay I love doing the most, but I also have Shadowlightninja, which is my Deviantart username.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I’ve been cosplaying for about 2 years now. My friend got me started by watching non-stop anime. After thinking about it nonstop, I eventually made up my mind to go cosplay at a nearby convention with her.

Axel/Shadowlightninja as Xerxes Break from Pandora Hearts

Axel/Shadowlightninja as Xerxes Break from Pandora Hearts

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I always love styling the wigs. It’s just so much fun!

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
Well, my next cosplay will be Yami Bakura frm Yu-Gi-Oh, so I’m kind of looking forward to be working with the wig on that.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I’m not very picky when looking at other’s cosplays. I mean, I love to see hard work put into them, but I think the people that do the best in them are the people having the most fun.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
For the most part, it’s really nice. I love how friendly people can be, and you meet so many interesting people

Axel/Shadowlightninja as Kairi from Kingdom Hearts, photo by Firebird Photography

Axel/Shadowlightninja as Kairi from Kingdom Hearts, photo by Firebird Photography

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I wish people wouldn’t judge others for how they got their cosplay (like commissions) or how much skill they had while making it. People should just enjoy themselves.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Have fun with it. I would also suggest going to conventions near you. You get to meet so many people with the same interests that live near you.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I actually haven’t been to many conventions. Though the ones I’ve been to have all been great in their own way. Yama-Con had amazing people that went, and Anime Southeast had so much fun stuff going on that you were never really sitting there bored.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I love my Axel wig ^.^ It took forever to do, but in the end, it turned out amazing!

Axel/Shadowlightninja as Axel from Kingdom Hearts, photo by Firebird Photography

Axel/Shadowlightninja as Axel from Kingdom Hearts, photo by Firebird Photography

Thanks for the interview, Axel/Shadowlightninja! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

