Interview with Kimchi_Kutie

It’s time for another interview, this time with Kimchi_Kutie! She’s a talented cosplayer from Washington, who is a big fan of accuracy!

Kimchi_Kutie as Princess Celestia from M yLittle Pony, photo by Elite Cosplay

Kimchi_Kutie as Princess Celestia from M yLittle Pony, photo by Elite Cosplay

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
Hmm…. I have a couple, but I usually go by Kimchi_Kutie lately. I chose it cause my favorite food is kimchi and it’s kind of a pride thing for me because I’m Korean. ^^

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
It’s been 5 years now. I think what got me started was that I loved dressing up and I loved anime, manga, and video games; so to dress up as my favorite characters was like my calling. 😄

Kimchi_Kutie as Luka from Vocaloid, photo by Kyle Mistry

Kimchi_Kutie as Luka from Vocaloid, photo by Kyle Mistry

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
Definitely working on my Lightning Farron cosplay was a big highlight for me because I have never made costume armor before and it was nice how it turned out! I also loved how my Setsugetsuka Len cosplay turned out! I love historical costumes and I wanted to be as historically accurate as possible, but I failed at it T~T but it did get lots of good feedback! Now that I think about it, anything that has high amounts of detail I love to work on because people miss the attention to detail and the hard work put into it, but since people noticed it, it makes the costume so much more beautiful!

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I’m RIDICULOUSLY excited to work on my Noel Kreiss cosplay!!! I’ve wanted to get more into the crossplay scene and Noel is the perfect match. XDD I’m also really excited to work on Rydia of Mist cause FFIV is my favorite Final Fantasy game!! And Rydia is my favorite Summoner!!

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I would like to see people cosplay characters they’re a bit nervous to cosplay as. I know that sounds mean, but what I mean is I want to see people get out of their comfort zones and experiment with other costumes and have fun!

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
Lately it’s been more about competition and “whose costume is better” and a lot of hate towards the lady cosplayers! It’s dumb because cosplaying is to have fun and share something in common with someone else and that’s geeking out and not being afraid to dress up as your favorite character! And honestly, it’s getting redundant, sad to say. :C Like everyone is cosplaying Homestuck, Dr Who, Rise of the Guardians, etc. and there’s nothing wrong with that. But I would like to see more diversity

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
QUIT HATING ON EVERYONE!!! Just because they’re dressed as the same character as you doesn’t mean they did it on purpose to troll or offend you! Or say someone is cosplaying the same character as you but they didn’t do the best job, you shouldn’t belittle them for it! Everyone starts somewhere right? And people really need to stop calling us Cosplay Ladies “Attention whores” because a good 80%-90% of us ARE DOING IT BECAUSE IT’S FUN!!! We’re not “booth babes” and we’re not “fake”! Just because we like comics and video games and liking what we like doesn’t mean we’re “trying to be like one of the guys just for attention!”! No! It means “we like Dr. Who! We like Star Wars and Star Trek! We like what you like! Problem? Get your head out of your butt and we’ll discuss nerd to nerd!”

Kimchi_Kutie as Miku from Vocaloid, photo by SakuraGraffiti

Kimchi_Kutie as Miku from Vocaloid, photo by SakuraGraffiti

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
First off, it’s okay to start off small. 🙂 You’re starting out and tackling a huge costume project will only result in tears, headaches, and general rage quit! The big costumes people wear; it takes time to practice making them! And if you see someone’s awesome costume but you’re too scared to go up to them, don’t be! We were just like you when we were starting out. Going up and saying “I love your costume” isn’t an insult!
Also, NEVER ask “Where did you buy your costume!?” That is one of the biggest insults in the cosplay community! A good majority of us hand-make our costumes!
And yes, makeup is a pretty big deal in cosplaying! Even with guys! No, that does not mean buying big brand makeup like MAC or MakeupForever. etc. A little foundation, eyeliner, and some eyeshadow for your eyebrows make a HEAVY difference!

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Sakuracon will always be #1!!! It was my first con ever and I met the most amazing people there!!! Plus it’s close to home!! How much better can it get!?
Also, I LOVED PAX Prime!!! This year was my first (Thanks to my sis, Perzephone cosplay!) PAX ever and VIDEO GAMES EVERYWHERE!!! I was in Heaven!

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
Most of my costumes take less than a week to make! No joke! My Camellia Japonica cosplay took me literally 2 days to finish and complete.
I also experiment A LOT on makeup. XDD I would usually go through 6 or 7 makeup tests for 1 character until I decide which one I should do for a con or another costume event!
And I am one of the DERPIEST cosplayers you will ever meet!! I can make the most serious character look like “ERMERGERHD!!!”

Kimchi_Kutie as Lightning from Final Fantasy XIII-2

Kimchi_Kutie as Lightning from Final Fantasy XIII-2

Thanks for the interview, Kimchi_Kutie! You can see more of her work on her Cosplay.com account!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

