Videographer Interview with ChillyWilly

ChillyWilly is a talented videographer from California, who has a great eye for composition!

ChillyWilly

ChillyWilly

How many years have you been into videography and what got you into cosplay videography?
I’ve been into videography since 2005 when my friends started making fanmade music videos of Power Rangers. I was influenced by some of their awesome videos and decided to pursue to doing my own line of videos. I got into cosplay videography once I discovered one of AcksonL’s cosplay videos and got inspired by it in 2011.

What regions do you usually cover, and do you charge for shoots? Also, how does one get in contact to shoot with you?
Right now (due to budget constraints and full-time job) I only attend local conventions within California. I do not charge for shoots, but I do accept donations. People usually contact me on my facebook or youtube channel.

Unknown as Darth Maul from Star Wars, photo by ChillyWilly

Unknown as Darth Maul from Star Wars, photo by ChillyWilly

What type of costumes do you prefer to video and why?
I enjoy filming all types of armored cosplay and crossplay that surprise me to no end. Generally I love filming cosplays that have never been done before.

What is some of your favorite equipment you work with and why?
My favorite equipment I work with right now is the steadicam rig. It has taken me a long journey to harness it right. You have to treat it like it’s your best friend or there won’t be any improvement. Watching professionals make use of this equipment helps build the excitement and continue enjoy doing at what I do.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
What I am excited working with in the future is the new GoPro3 camera. I hope to utilize some of the clips from that and combine it with my normal shots sometime in the summer of 2013. Should be exciting.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other videographers and who do you think does them well?
I would like to see more cosplay videos that contain sfx. Currently I see a lot of videographers growing into the scenery at every con who film after AcksonL. Right now, I enjoy watching LD Bonilla’s edits. She takes her time with her post edits and inputs all kinds of special effects into her videos. I am still patiently waiting for her Borderlands 2 fan video to be uploaded. I hear that one’s gonna be killer.

Kasea VP as Lilith from Darkstalkers, photo by ChillyWilly

Kasea VP as Lilith from Darkstalkers, photo by ChillyWilly

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
My view of the cosplay scene is the pop culture phenomenon that helps makes all my dreams from the anime world come true to life. I love entering the world of cosplay and get into that nostalgic feeling.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
The only change I’d like to see is some of the access to filming locations. These locations are great and require a license to film or book an appointment in advance in order to have access to the site, especially here in Los Angeles. If we can have the freedom to film at any location site, I’m sure we can produce amazing results with videos.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into videography?
Some advice I’d like to share is to try your best and film at location spots where there is fewer crowds during the convention. You don’t want too many videobombers in the background, unless you are meant to film the attendees themselves. Be courteous to the cosplayers you shoot, and introduce yourself a bit so they have an idea of who you are and what you do. A little interaction with new people does not hurt and can go a long way. And lastly, drink as much water as you can so you can stay hydrated.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
My favorite conventions at this point are ALA, and Anime Expo. I get to meet with cosplayers from different states and actually get to work with them in person.

Thanks for the interview, ChillyWilly! To check out his work and contact him for a shoot, you can check out his Youtube and his Deviantart!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

