Interview with Lauren

It’s time for another interview, this time with Lauren! She’s a lovely cosplayer from Washington, who has a growing collection of cosplay!

Lauren as Steampunk Poison Ivy from Batman, photo by S.AL Media

Lauren as Steampunk Poison Ivy from Batman, photo by S.AL Media

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
I actully do not have a cosplay alias unlike many cosplayers. I have no problem having people know who I really am.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I’ve been cosplaying for about four years. My older sister got me started when she took me to my first anime convention.

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I think I really like illustrating my cosplays the most. Working with my imagination is my favorite.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I’m most excited about working with my latest character design because it will be my very first original character brought to life.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I love to see detail in works and even some personal touches. I see a lot of my cosplay friends do really well with that they pay so close attention to detail; its very inspiring.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I think that the cosplay scene is very misjudged. Often people think cosplayers are immature or stereotypical living in mother’s basement types. But I’ve met some very mature and very successful, smart cosplayers. I love the cosplay scene; it’s a like a second family.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
The only thing I would like to see changed would be the “Fake geek girl” thing going around. I think if anyone wants to cosplay, they should be allowed to.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Have fun with it. Don’t be discouraged if the cosplay isn’t great the first few times.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I don’t know if I have a favorite. I think Sakuracon will always be special to me though, because it was my first convention.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I’m very proud of my steampunk Poison Ivy cosplay because it was my first hand-made costume. A fact about it is that I had to re-do the hat three times because I simply didn’t know how to make them. It even made me cry at one point because I was so stressed about it, haha.

Thanks for the interview, Lauren! Hope to see you at a convention sometime in the future!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

