Videographer Interview with ShinWH0

ShinWH0 is a talented videographer from here in the United States, who captures his work in 3D!

ShinWH0, kneeling in the image, with fellow videographers

ShinWH0, kneeling in the image, with fellow videographers

How many years have you been into videography and what got you into cosplay videography?
5 years. But what really got me into cosplay videography was Ackson’s videos of Ayareinami*YAY* and Lulubird.

What regions do you usually cover, and do you charge for video shoots? Also, how does one get in contact to shoot with you?
East and West Coast. No, I don’t charge! Find me at a con I’m going to or send me a message on Facebook, Youtube, or Cosplay.com to set up scripted filming.

What type of video shoots do you prefer and why?
Scripted scenes of character interactions or in-character acting composed with a nice background. Because I (and my audience) like to see characters believably come to life!

What is some of your favorite equipment to work with and why?
I’m the only 3D cosplay videographer. I use a camera that records in the format used by 3D Blu-ray movies (MVC). I make my videos available for download to watch in 3D without needing glasses on Nintendo 3DS and 3DS XL. My videos are like peering through a window into another world!

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
My contract with Nintendo is almost up. I’m going to be taking some time off to re-master my currently available 3DS videos to show better 3D and be perfectly sharp on every frame. I’m excited about this because natural 3D makes cosplay very realistic and characters stand out.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other videographers and who do you think does them well?
Creativity and scene composition. Ackson was usually really good at this, but I also love Eleventhphotograph’s work and Brucer007’s action shots.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene?”
Too much focus on competitiveness (especially online!) instead of doing it to show your love of a character and series as a hobby.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
Exclusivity with who some work with needs to go away. Less focus on giveaways for reaching certain numbers of likes, promoting only certain cosplayers constantly, etc. Honestly, stop focusing so much on contests and just show off your hard work and creativity!

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into videography?
Don’t be afraid to approach cosplayers and experiment a lot to get to really know your equipment and its limitations.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Honestly, my favorite is Katsucon in Washington D.C. because of the location. Eighteen story glass atrium with an indoor jungle and village, white marble everywhere, some cool sculptures nearby! So much potential for amazing shoots!

Thanks for the interview, ShinWH0! To check out his work and contact him for a shoot, you can check out his Youtube and his Facebook page!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

